Saint Louis University Menu Search

Faculty Development

Joint Faculty Senate/Office of the Provost Mid-Career Faculty Development Committee

Committee Membership

Current Members

  • Toby Benis, Department of English, Committee Co-Chair
  • Kira Banks, Department of Psychology
  • Julie Birkenmaier, School of Social Work
  • Craig Boyd, School for Professional Studies
  • Charles Croissant, University Libraries
  • Robert Cropf, Department of Political Science
  • Mark Ferris, Department of Operations and IT Management
  • Roobik Gharabagi, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Jean Krampe, School of Nursing
  • Karen Myers, School of Education
  • Silvana Siddali, Department of History
  • Sara Steele, Department of Communication Science and Disorders 
  • Constance Wagner, School of Law
  • Anders Walker, School of Law
  • Jinsong Zhang, Department of Pharmacological and Physiological Science

Current Ex-Officio Members:

  • Michael Lewis, Office of the Provost, Committee Co-Chair
  • Matthew Christian, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Miriam Joseph, Office of the Provost
  • Jane McHowat, School of Medicine
  • Gina Merys, Reinert Center for Transformative Teaching and Learning

Previous Members

  • Christine Hachem, School of Medicine (Spring 2017)
  • Sam Jordan, School of Law (Fall 2016 - Spring 2017)
  • Debra Lohe, Reinert Center for Transformative Teaching and Learning (Fall 2016 - Fall 2017)
  • Angela Sharkey, School of Medicine, ex-officio (Spring 2017)
  • Mary White, Physician Assistant Education (Fall 2016 - Spring 2017)

Accessing the COACHE Survey Data

 In the Fall of 2016 a joint Faculty Senate/Provost's Office Mid-Career Faculty Development Committee (MCFDC) was initiated. During the Spring of 2017 the committee oversaw SLU's participation in the Harvard Collaborative on Academic Careers in Higher Education (COACHE) survey as part of the data-collecting phase of the committee's work.

COACHE provided us the data in a form that compares our results to other participant universities, but they also gave us the raw data for our responses. This data was provided to our OIR Director, who has agreed to make it available only in a manner that protects the identity of the respondents (no group will be reported unless it has at least five respondents). In addition, as indicated by the faculty on the MCFDC in initiating this effort, requests for access to the data must be approved by the Provost and Faculty Senate President.

The COACHE survey asked questions in the following categories:

  • Nature of Work: Research
  • Nature of Work: Service
  • Nature of Work: Teaching
  • Nature of Work: Other
  • Facilities and Work Resources
  • Personal and Family Policies
  • Health and Retirement Benefits
  • Interdisciplinary Work
  • Collaboration
  • Mentoring
  • Tenure Policies
  • Tenure Clarity
  • Promotion
  • Leadership: Senior
  • Leadership: Divisional
  • Leadership Departmental
  • Leadership: Faculty
  • Institutional Governance and Leadership
  • Shared Governance
  • Departmental Collegiality
  • Departmental Engagement
  • Departmental Quality
  • Appreciation and Recognition
  • Recruitment and Retention
  • Global Satisfaction

In addition, we participated in the optional survey modules for non-tenure track faculty and for clinical faculty. The non-tenure track faculty module asked questions about contract and promotion processes. The clinical faculty module asked questions about support for patient care and clinical work.

The COACHE survey can break out the results in the following demographic groups (no group for a department, college, etc. will be reported unless it has at least five respondents):

  • Tenured Faculty
  • Pre-Tenured Faculty
  • Non-Tenure Track Faculty
  • Full Professor
  • Associate Professor
  • Men Faculty
  • Women Faculty
  • White Faculty
  • Faculty of Color
  • Asian Faculty
  • Underrepresented Minority Faculty

If you would like to access data in part of the survey, click here to provide the rationale required for Provost and Faculty Senate President approval.