Saint Louis University

Faculty and administrators, including those with emeritus status, are invited to apply for the 2012 Alpha Sigma Nu Book Awards, which honor scholarship and scholarly writing at Jesuit colleges and universities.

Applications for the 2013 Alpha Sigma Nu Book Awards are due by Friday, March 1, and can be found online at the Alpha Sigma Nu website. This year's category is "Professional Studies," including such disciplines as architecture, business administration, communication, education, engineering, foreign service, law, social work and others. Eligible books under Professional Studies are those published between January 2010 and December 2012.

Books are judged by a volunteer team of fellow faculty members from Jesuit institutions based on the scholarship, significance of topic, authority in interpretation, objectivity, presentation and style. The awards embody the spirit of Alpha Sigma Nu by promoting scholarly research at our Jesuit member institutions.

Past SLU ASN awardees include:

  • Mark Neely, Ph.D., Last Best Hope of Earth, 1995 
  • Timothy J. Lomperis, Ph.D., From People's War to People's Rule: Insurgency, Intervention and the Lessons of Vietnam, 1996 
  • Manoj S. Patankar, Ph.D., Risk Management and Error Reduction in Aviation Maintenance, 2004 
  • Charlotte Royeen, co-author, Educating for Moral Action, 2006 
  • James Kelhoffer, The Diet of John the Baptist, 2008
  • Ruben Rosario Rodriguez, Racism and God-Talk: A Latino/a Perspective, 2011