Saint Louis University

Two Saint Louis University faculty members received the John A. Slosar Shared Governance Award during the Faculty Senate Kickoff program Sept. 17.

Ellen Carnaghan, Ph.D. Ellen Carnaghan, Ph.D.
From left, Ellen Carnaghan, Ph.D., and Mark Knuepfer, Ph.D.

This award is based on nominations by their peers for their demonstrated leadership in advancing the principle of shared governance.

Ellen Carnaghan, Ph.D., professor of political science, was instrumental in working behind the scenes to support the work of the faculty senate by getting large groups of faculty engaged and involved on the behalf of Saint Louis University.

Mark Knuepfer, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology and physical science and past-president of the Faculty Senate, provided leadership during a time of great tension, was able to navigate treacherous situations and showed an uncanny sense of what to do next and how to get there.