Saint Louis University Menu Search

Women's and Gender Studies Faculty

The faculty in Saint Louis University’s Department of Women’s and Gender Studies are leading scholars in their fields. Their research includes topics such as the philosophy of feminism, women’s quest for citizenship rights and the battered women’s movement in St. Louis.

Core Faculty

  • Penny Weiss, Ph.D., department chair
  • Gretchen Arnold, Ph.D.
  • Amanda Izzo, Ph.D.
  • Robert Strikwerda, Ph.D.
  • Claudia Karagoz, Ph.D.
  • Elena Dalla Torre, Ph.D.
  • Elisabeth Perry, Ph.D., emerita

Secondary Faculty

Faculty with secondary appointments in the Department of Women's and Gender Studies serve three-year terms and are able to renew their appointments. Faculty are selected based on their teaching, scholarship and commitment to students and the department.

  • Toby Benis, Ph.D. (Department of English)
  • Maria Cardona, Ph.D. (Department of  Languages, Literatures and Cultures)
  • Ellen Crowell, Ph.D. (Department of  English)
  • Ruth Evans, Ph.D. (Department of  English)
  • Noelle Fearn, Ph.D. (College for Public Health and Social Justice)
  • Lorri Glover, Ph.D. (Department of  History)
  • Colleen McCluskey, Ph.D. (Department of  Philosophy)
  • Marcia McCormick, J.D. (Law School)
  • Wynne Moskop, Ph.D. (Department of  Political Science)
  • Julie Rubio, Ph.D. (Department of  Theological Studies)
  • Angela Smart, Ph.D. (Department of  Languages, Literatures and Cultures)
  • Susan Tebb, Ph.D. (School of Social Work)
  • Sabrina Tyuse, Ph.D. (School of Social Work)
  • Constance Wagner, J.D. (Law School)