The Saint Louis University Law Journal is the oldest publication at Saint Louis University School of Law. Law students edit and produce the Journal, which the School of Law sponsors. Eminent scholars, judges, professors, practitioners and high-achieving law students author the articles for the Journal’s four annual issues. Each issue is overseen by a Managing Editor, under the supervision and direction of our Editor-in-Chief, Katherine Martin.

Additionally, the Journal has launched an Online Companion to feature shorter-form pieces written by contributing authors. Works published in the Saint Louis University Law Journal Online either respond to pieces published in the print version of the Journal or summarize recent court decisions from both the 8th Circuit and the Missouri Supreme Court. Submission of short, timely pieces from any author is always welcome, and should be sent to the Online Editor, Ryan Reed.

The Journal publishes four annual issues on a variety of legal topics. It is our goal to publish timely, pertinent and thought-provoking legal scholarship in every volume. Further, we seek to make publishing with the Journal a positive and enjoyable experience for the authors with whom we collaborate. Finally, it is our readers whom we endeavor to serve. Our readers are the final judge of quality, and the Journal seeks to improve in quality with each successive volume.

Notable scholars whose work the Journal has published in the past include the following:

Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, United States Supreme Court
Professor Thomas W. Merrill, the Charles Keller Beekman Professor of Law, Columbia Law School
Professor Erwin Chemerinsky, Founding Dean, University of California, Irvine School of Law
Professor Harold Hongju Koh, the Dean and Gerard C. & Bernice Latrobe Smith Professor of International Law, Yale Law School
Richard H. Fallon, the Ralph S. Tyler, Jr. Professor of Constitutional Law, Harvard Law School
Professor David A. Strauss, the Harry N. Wyatt Professor of Law, University of Chicago
The Honorable Albie Sachs, Associate Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa
Professor Jerold H. Israel, the Ed Rood Eminent Scholar in Trial Advocacy & Procedure, University of Florida Fredric G. Levin College of Law
The Right Honorable Antonio Lamer, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada
Professor Samuel Estreicher, Dwight D. Opperman Professor of Law, New York University School of Law