2010 Conference

You will be redirected to the new website in 3 seconds. If you are not, click here.


Ellis Hawley Prize

The Ellis Hawley Prize is awarded by the Journal of Policy History for the best article published by a junior scholar in the previous two years in the journal. 

The Journal of Policy History is pleased to announce that the 2010 Ellis Hawley Prize is awarded to Zachary M. Schrag of George Mason University, for his article, “How Talking became Human Subjects Research: The Federal Regulation of the Social Sciences, 1965-1991”


Hugh Davis Graham Award

In order to honor the late Hugh Davis Graham and to promote research in policy history and political history, the Hugh Davis Graham Research Fund was established in 2004 with initial gifts from friends and family. This fund will provide research stipends for graduate students and established scholars doing archival research in policy and political history. Doctoral students, junior scholars, and senior scholars will be eligible for support from this fund.

Hugh Davis Graham (1936-2002) was educated in the public schools of Nashville, Tennessee. He attended Yale University (BA 1958), and Stanford University (PhD 1964). After tours of duty in the U.S. Marine Corps and the Peace Corps, he taught history at Johns Hopkins University and the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, before joining the faculty of Vanderbilt University in 1991 as the Holland N. McTyeire Professor of History. He was the author or editor of sixteen books in American history.

The 2010 Graham Award is awarded to Jessica L. Adler of Columbia University, “‘No More Solemn Obligations’: Soldiers, Veterans, and Health Policy, 1917-1924”

Thomas H. Critchlow Award

The Institute for Political History established the Thomas H. Critchlow Travel Award in 2008 to support graduate research in pre-twentieth century American political/policy history and American Political Development. The award is named in honor of Thomas Critchlow, a major benefactor of the Institute. The award is offered every other year and announced at the Policy History Conference.

Thomas Critchlow was born July 20, 1913 in Prospect, a small town in western Pennsylvania, which the Critchlows had helped settle in the 1790s. At the age of 12, Tom moved to Southern California. He attended public school in Ontario, California, where he was elected student body president of his high school and community college. He completed his junior year at the University of California, Berkeley, but had to return home to save his family's orange grove from foreclosure in the 1930s. While working, he completed his university degree at the University of California, Los Angeles in 1940. After officer's training school at the Coast Guard Academy, he served in the Pacific theater during the Second World War.

After the war, he entered the stock brokerage business, where he worked for a number of firms. He retired in 1988 and currently lives in La Jolla, California.

The 2010 Critchlow Award is awarded to Laura D. Phillips, University of Virginia, “The American Fair Trade Controversy: Federalism, Interest Groups, and Economic Theory in Transition, 1880-1940”

Bowling Green Prize

The Graduate Program in Policy History at Bowling Green State University, in association with the Institute for Political History, offers the Bowling Green Book Prize in International or Comparative Policy History. This is a biannual award for the best book published in a two year period. International or Comparative Policy History is broadly defined to include social and cultural as well as political, economic and institutional topics, approaches, and methodologies. Nominated works should incorporate an international or comparative perspective examining different national, regional, or chronological policy settings. The prizewinner will be announced at the biennial Policy History Conference, sponsored by the Institute for Political History. The prize carries an honorarium of $1000 and an invitation to speak at Bowling Green State University.