Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda Tuesday April, 16 2024, 3:30 – 5:30 pm CDT Via ZOOM: <u>https://slu.zoom.us/j/97281725414</u> Meeting ID: 972 8172 5414

1.	Call to Order (Location – Health Science Education Union, Wall Auditorium room 112)	3:30
2.	 Roll Call: Use the following procedures: a. Each in-person Senator should use the provided QR code to record your presence. b. Senators participating by Zoom are recorded – please make sure your name reflects first and last name. c. Alternates should notify the Senate Secretary, Beth Baker, with the name of the Senator for whom you are a substitute. Beth will be participating via zoom. You can place the information in the Chat or email her. d. If you are calling in, please let Beth know your name and phone number via Chat. e. NOTE: All FS meetings are recorded for record keeping purposes only. 	
3.	Moment of Reflection. Kathleen Armstrong	3:32
4.	Approval of March minutes (separate attachment).	3:35
5.	 Key priorities as identified by Faculty Senators/FS Committees a. Longer term contracts for NTT – Update Rollins b. Workload Policy Review i. FS Gov – Update Governance c. Envisioning teaching evaluation at SLU i. FS AAC, Gender Equity, Reinert Center, Provost Office, ii. Update on projects moving forward d. President's Research Council e. Compensation and benefits 	3:40
6.	 Responses to current questions/concerns a. Anita Borgmeyer NEW SLU.EDU b. Jennifer Nutefall – Library Committee c. Enrollment update, <i>Provost</i> d. Slate of Candidates for FSEC e. Update on President Search Committee/Process 	4:00 4:15 4:35 4:55 5:15
9. 10. 11.	Old Business – New Business BOT, School and Committee Reports Announcements (within email) Additional Faculty Resources (links in email) Adjournment	5:30

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Tuesday March, 19 2024, 3:30 – 5:30 pm CDT Via ZOOM: <u>https://slu.zoom.us/j/97281725414</u> Meeting ID: 972 8172 5414

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call: see below
- 3. Moment of Reflection. Ray LeBeau
- 4. Approval of February minutes (separate attachment). Approved
- 5. VOTING: Voting on changes to the *Faculty Manual* occurred between 3:45 and 4:30pm. Fortyseven votes were cast, 42 in favor and 5 against. The changes as slated have passed. A formal note of approval will be communicated to the Provost, and it will be put on the Board agenda to be voted upon in April or May.
- 6. Key priorities as identified by Faculty Senators/FS Committees
 - a. Longer term contracts for NTT Update: A Provost level policy is being developed and should be out for comment in early April. Among other parts of the policy, schools are working on developing policies for NTT faculty. Once approved, NTT faculty will be eligible for promotion through ranks. For example, if a NTT faculty member enters as an assistant professor they are eligible for one year contracts. All NTT faculty are required to have a 3year review. During this time and thereafter, NTT faculty may continue to be on one-year contracts if desired. Alternately, NTT faculty will now be eligible for promotion to associate professor. If they meet their unit quidelines for NTT associate professor, then they can be promoted and will be eligible to obtain up to a 3-year contract. Once they move to associate, they will be eligible for a promotion to full professor and up to a 5-year contract but will not be required to do so. Different units are responsible for creating the guidelines for promotions in their unit that meet the minimum standards set forth by the Provost. These guidelines will include the timelines for moving from assistant to associate and from associate to full. SLU is envisioning guidelines will be developed over academic year 2024-2025 with new contracts under these policies starting in July 2025 Please note, NTT faculty are not required to go through a promotional track. The SOM is not included in this. The quidelines for SOM faculty who are NTT and employed by SLU will be included in the proposed new SOM specific faculty manual.
 - b. Workload Policy Review
 - i. FS Gov *Update:* As part of the Faculty Senate work, we have put out a survey regarding the workload policy at the University and unit level. All faculty are invited to take some time to review and complete this survey. It will be open through March 25th.
 - c. Envisioning teaching evaluation at SLU
 - i. FS AAC, Gender Equity, Reinert Center, Provost Office,
 - ii. Celebration of Teaching Excellence, March 26 4pm -6pm Sinquefield Stateroom
 - d. President's Research Council- no report
 - e. Compensation and benefits no report
- 7. Responses to current questions/concerns
 - a. Patricia Bass (Director SLU JWL Partnership) See slides. Presented the new BA program in CIS that is serving students in refugee camps. The program is similar to that of the CIS program through SPS. Courses that still need instructors include: Please note these require increased attention to cultural sensitivity. Contact Patricia Bass with any additional questions patricia.bass@slu.edu.
 - b. Norm White/John Slosar Nominations: Please nominate people! Please follow these links to nominate someone for the Norm White Award. Provisional nominations for the John

Slosar award are due by Monday, May 13, 2024, and final supporting documents are to be submitted not later than Monday, June 3, 2024. Nominations can be sent to Dr. Mark Knuepfer (mark.knuepfer@health.slu.edu) Chairperson of the Slosar Award Committee.

- c. Faculty Senate Executive Committee Nominations: Starting July 1, we have open positions for President Elect (4 year commitment- president elect 1 year, president for 2 years, past president for 1 year); FS Secretary (2 year term); open member at large position (2 year term).
- 8. Old Business -
- 9. New Business
- 10. BOT, School and Committee Reports
 - a. Law school is conducting dean search and is in their final discussions.
 - b. SOB is also in the midst of a dean search.
- 11. Announcements
 - a. The ESL department/ INTO SLU have been developing workshops to help students adapt to SLU and the US. Please feel free to contact us or have students contact us to sign up for these workshops.
- 12. Additional Faculty Resources (links in email)
- 13. Adjournment

Attendance:

Faculty Senators 2023-2024

School of Medicine

	Jay Bauman
Hany Elbeshbeshy	Yie-Hwa Chang
Shakir Mohamed	Barry Duel
Jennifer Cash	T Scott Isbell
Shannon Grabosch	Ranjit Ray
Nongnooch Poowanawittyakom	

College of Arts and Sciences

Elodie Pozzi	Hisako Matsuo
Stacey Harris	Stephen Casmier
Ruth Groff	Zhenguo Lin
Joel Jennings	

School of Science and Engineering

Paul Jelliss	Ray LeBeau
Jeff Ma	Chris Arnatt
Amina Mohammadalipour	

Doisy College of Health Sciences

Mike Markee	Chezna Warner
Barb Yemm	Martha Blaess

Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business

Fei Tan	Noni Zaharia
Tracy James	Hailong Qian

Trudy Busch Valentine School of Nursing

	Kathleen Armstrong
Alison Kuhn	Kristin Keller

	School of Law
Doug Williams	Kelly Mullholland
Petina Benigno	

College for Public Health and Social Justice

Kathleen Gillespie	Cheryl Rathert
Echu Liu	

School of Education

John James (Proxy)

Jody Wood

Social Work

Jesse Helton (Sabrina Tyuse)

University Libraries

Angela Spencer	Matthew Tuegel
Rebecca Hyde	

School for Professional Studies

Maria Weber	

Independent Units [ESL & CADE]

Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Chris Rollins, President (2022-2023)
Terry Tomazic, past president (2023)
Beth Baker, Secretary (2021-2024)
Theo Alexander, Member-at-Large (2022-2024)
Sherry Bicklein, Member-at-large (2023-2025)
Joe Lyons, Member-at-Large (2022-2024)
Stephen McMillin Member-at-large (2023-2025)