Saint Louis University

2014-2015 Morgan Book Award Winners

The 2014-15 Edward L. and Rhelda Mabry Morgan Book Award winners are Stephen Lawson, doctoral student in Theological Studies; Cathryn Stout, doctoral student in American Studies; and Jeannita Triggs, doctoral student in English. The award provides $750 for each student toward the purchase of books and materials for their coursework. The Morgan Book Award was started by Edward Morgan and his family in memory of Dr. Rhelda Mabry Morgan. Dr. Morgan's doctorate in American Studies was awarded posthumously in 1996 following her sudden death at age 48 one month prior to commencement. Dr. Morgan taught in the St. Louis public schools for 24 years and was an adjunct at Harris-Stowe and a featured lecturer at Principia College. The first Morgan recipients were named in 1999. Applicants for the award submit a 750-word essay articulating the type of person the student thinks Dr. Morgan was based on her biography, followed by an explanation of the student's commitment to her ideals and values. Applicants also submit a resume reflecting the student's leadership in promoting diversity and service in economically depressed areas. Information about the award and a list of

past winners can be found here

Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2016  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid