Saint Louis University

1.315 Executive Committee

SECTION Organization NO. 1.315  
CHAPTER Committees--School of Medicine DATE ISSUED
SUBJECT Executive Committee of the Faculty    


  1. Policy
    The School of Medicine shall have an Executive Committee of the Faculty to serve as an advisory and consultative body to the Dean.
  2. Purpose
    As outlined in Article II of the Constitution of the School of Medicine, to make recommendations regarding the matriculation, promotion and graduation of medical students; faculty appointments, promotion and tenure; the creation of new departments; and the appointment of deans and department chairpersons.
  3. Procedure
    1. The Executive Committee of the Faculty shall consist of the following voting members: all department chairs, the Secretary of the Faculty, and six members elected from the ranked faculty, two of whom shall represent the basic science faculty, three full-time clinical, and one part-time or voluntary faculty. Ex officio members, without vote, shall include members of the Dean's Staff, the Chair of the Credentials Committee, a Rank and Tenure Representative, the Director of Campus Ministry, and the Vice President for Medical Affairs at both Cardinal Glennon Children's Hospital and St. Mary's Health Center.
    2. The Committee on Faculty Affairs shall act as a nominating committee in selecting faculty representatives to be voted by electronic ballot and announced at the spring General Faculty meeting and to the Executive Committee. The ballot shall be emailed to the general faculty at least twice in the four weeks prior to the date of the spring General Faculty meeting. The term of elected office is three years. Elected members may be reelected, provided that their terms do not exceed six successive years. In case a member cannot fulfill the elected term, the Dean will make a new appointment from a list provided by the Committee on Faculty Affairs. The individual appointed to complete the unexpired term shall be a member of the same faculty group as the member being replaced.
    3. The Committee shall meet once each month, except for July and August, with the Dean presiding. Minutes of Executive Committee meetings shall be maintained by a member of the Dean's Staff and forwarded to the Dean.
  4. Reference
    Constitution and By-laws of the School of Medicine
    Membership List
  5. Rescission
  6. Review Date
    Reviewed annually and revised when necessary and appropriate.

Approved: Philip O. Alderson, M.D., Dean, School of Medicine

Executive Committee of the Faculty Membership List (2015-2016)  

Philip O. Alderson, M.D., Dean & Vice President for Medical Affairs
Committee Chairperson

Departmental Chairpersons
Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Wolf Stapelfeldt, M.D.

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Enrico Di Cera, M.D.

Family and Community Medicine
F. David Schneider, M.D.

Comparative Medicine
John P. Long, D.V.M.

Scott W. Fosko, M.D.

Internal Medicine
Adrian M. Di Bisceglie, M.D.

Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
William S.M. Wold, Ph.D.

Institute for Molecular Virology (Director)
Maurice Green, Ph.D.

Neurology & Psychiatry 
Henry Nasrallah, M.D.

Saleem Abdulrauf, M.D.

Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women's Health
Mary McLennan, M.D.

Oscar A. Cruz, M.D.

Orthopaedic Surgery
Berton R. Moed, M.D.

Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery (Interim Chair)
Jastin Antisdel, M.D.

Carole Vogler, M.D

Robert W. Wilmott, M.D.

Pharmacology and Physiology
Thomas P. Burris, Ph.D.

Radiation Oncology (Associate Chair)
John Dombrowski, M.D., Ph.D.

Jeffrey Brown, M.D.

Donald Jacobs, M.D.





Stephen Braddock, M.D.



James J. Deckert, M.D.

Family and Community Medicine


Duane Grandgenett, Ph.D.

Institute for Molecular Virology  


Donna Halloran, M.D., M.S.P.H.



Christine Jacobs, M.D.

Family and Community Medicine


Ranjit Ray, Ph.D.

Internal Medicine


Barbara Y. Whitman, Ph.D.
Secretary of the Faculty




*   Indicates reappointment for additional term.

Ex Officio

Joel Eissenberg, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Research

Julie K. Gammack, M.D.
Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education

Paul Hauptman, M.D.
Assistant Dean, Clinical and Translational Research

Robert M. Heaney, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs

William C. Mootz, M.D.
Assistant Dean, Curricular Affairs and Academic Records

Michael T. Railey, M.D.
Associate Dean, Multicultural Affairs

Angela M. Sharkey, M.D.
Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs and Development

Stuart J. Slavin, M.D.
Associate Dean, Curricular Affairs

Gregory S. Smith, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs

L. James Willmore, M.D.
Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Affairs


Invited Observer, South Campus Ministry

Lia Lowrie, M.D.    
Chairperson, Credentials Committee                          

Mark Voigt, Ph.D.
Rank and Tenure Representative  07/15-06/18                                  

Jacki Kornbluth, Ph.D. 
Chairperson, Faculty Affairs Committee

Nirav H. Patel, M.D.
CMO, Tenet-Saint Louis University Hospital

Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2016  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid