Saint Louis University

1.317 Academic/Sabbatical Leave Committee

SECTION Organization NO. 1.317
CHAPTER Committees--School of Medicine DATE ISSUED
SUBJECT Academic/Sabbatical Leave Committee


  1. Policy
    The School of Medicine shall establish an Academic/Sabbatical Leave Committee.
  2. Purpose
    To evaluate proposals from full-time tenured faculty for professional development and renewal.
  3. Procedure

    Applications must be submitted to the departmental chairperson. The chairperson forwards an original and five copies of the application to the Dean's office of the School of Medicine for review by the Academic/Sabbatical Leave Committee. Applications must be submitted at least ten months before the beginning of the semester in which the proposed leave will occur. The following documentation is necessary:

    1. The faculty member must submit a plan for the leave which promises professional development and/or renewal and indicates the requested start date and end date of the sabbatical.
    2. A letter from the host institution signed by the individual under whose mentorship the sabbatical will occur.
    3. A curriculum vitae, including current grant information.
    4. A statement from the applicant's department chairperson must document support and demonstrate an interim plan for covering the applicant's responsibilities while away.
    5. A report from the recipient must be submitted to the Committee within one semester after return.

    Academic/Sabbatical leave shall be for 12 months at one-half annual salary or six months at full salary.

    An additional application for leave will not be considered until six years have passed since the previous leave. A recipient must return to the School of Medicine and remain in service for at least one year following the leave.

    IV. Reference
    The Faculty Manual of Saint Louis University--See "Sabbatical Leave"

    V. Rescission

    VI. Review Date
    Reviewed annually and revised when necessary and appropriate.

    Approved: Philip O. Alderson, M.D., Dean, School of Medicine

    Academic/Sabbatical Leave Committee Membership List (2015-2016)




    David Ford, Ph.D.

    Committee Chairperson

    Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


    Andrew Lechner, Ph.D.

    Pharmacology and Physiology


    Miriam B. Rodin, M.D., Ph.D.

    Internal Medicine


    *   Indicates reappointment for additional term.


Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2016  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid