Saint Louis University

1.320 Research Planning Committee

SECTION Organization NO. 1.320
CHAPTER Committees--School of Medicine DATE ISSUED
SUBJECT Research Planning Committee
  1. Policy
    The School of Medicine shall establish a Research Planning Committee to guide the development of the School's research programs.
  2. Purpose
    To provide general oversight and advice on a broad range of issues related to the development and support of research in the School of Medicine including:
    1. Review, formulation and recommendation of policies pertaining to research in the School of Medicine.
    2. Review of major equipment requisitions equal to or exceeding $15,000, unless the purchase has been peer reviewed by an outside sponsor and is funded 100% by the outside sponsor.
    3. Participation in the School's strategic planning process in the specific areas of research and graduate education (Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. programs).
    4. Other tasks as assigned by the Dean.
  3. Procedure
    1. Members of the Research Planning Committee shall be appointed by the Dean, with the recommendations of the Committee on Faculty Affairs and serve three-year terms. The Dean shall also appoint the Chair who serves for a three-year term. Ex officio members without vote will include the Vice President for Research, the Associate Dean for Research, the Assistant Dean for Clinical Translational Research, the Chair of the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology and the Associate Dean for Finance and Administration for the Health Sciences Center. The Office of Planning and Operations shall provide administrative support.
    2. The Research Planning Committee shall meet monthly from September through May and at any other time deemed appropriate by the Chairperson. Minutes of the meetings shall be maintained and forwarded to the Dean.
  4. Reference
    Membership List
  5. Rescission
  6. Review Date
    Reviewed annually and revised when necessary and appropriate.

Approved: Philip O. Alderson, M.D., Dean, School of Medicine

Research Planning Committee Membership List (2015-2016) 




Enrico Di Cera, M.D.

Committee Chairperson

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


Thomas P. Burris, Ph.D.

Pharmacology and Physiology


Dale Dorsett, Ph.D.

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


John C. Edwards, M.D., Ph.D.

Internal Medicine


Daniel Hoft, M.D., Ph.D.

Internal Medicine


Joyce Koenig, M.D.



Jacki Kornbluth, Ph.D.



Reigh-Yi Lin, Ph.D.

Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery


Michael Rauchman, M.D.

Internal Medicine


John Tavis, Ph.D.

Molecular Microbiology and Immunology


*   Indicates reappointment for additional term. 

Ex Officio

Joel Eissenberg, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Research

Paul Hauptman, M.D.
Assistant Dean, Clinical and Translational Research

John P. Long, D.V.M.
Chair, Department of Comparative Medicine

Raymond Tait, Ph.D.
Vice President, Research

William S.M. Wold, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

Denise Johnson
Director, Planning and Operations

Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2016  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid