Saint Louis University

John H. Gladney, M.D. Diversity Award

John H. Gladney, M.D. Speaker Series 2017

Dr. John Gladney

The John H. Gladney Diversity Award was established to recognize and celebrate support for diversity in the School of Medicine. The award is named after Dr. John H. Gladney, former chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology. Dr. Gladney was the first African-American to hold the position of chairman of a basic science clinical department at Saint Louis University School of Medicine.

Dr. Gladney received a Bachelor of Arts from Talladega College, Talladega, Alabama and his M.D. degree from Meharry Medical

 College, Nashville, Tennessee. Dr. Gladney did his medical training at Homer G. Phillips Hospital, St. Louis, Missouri, Hines Veterans Administration Hospital, Hines, Illinois, and the University of Chicago, Illinois. Dr. Gladney is board certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology. He has also been recognized by the National Medical Association for being one of a select few physicians who have practiced for over fifty years.

The Diversity Award is given annually to a fourth year Saint Louis University medical student who has contributed significantly to the promotion and enhancement of diversity in the medical school. Criteria such as academic performance, extracurricular/community activities, demonstrated leadership, organizational and committee involvement, and domestic/international externships are used to select the recipient.

John H. Gladney, M.D. 1922-2011

Award Recipients
2015 Sean Smith, M.D. Barnes-Jewish Hospital - MO
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
2014 Jennifer Ray, M.D. Loyola University Medical Center - IL
Internal Medicine
2013 George Hanna, M.D. Loma Linda University - CA
Neurological Surgery
2012 Tukisa Smith, M.D. SUNY HSC Brooklyn - NY
Internal Medicine
2011 Ama Karikari, M.D. University of Arkansas - Little Rock
2010 Jia Shen, M.D. Emory University School of Medicine
Internal Medicine
2009 Ghassan Mohsen, M.D. Saint Louis University Hospital
Internal Medicine
2008 Bessevelyn Tables, M.D. Saint John's Mercy Hospital
Family Medicine
2008 Ivy Lawson, M.D. Saint Louis University Hospital
Diagnostic Radiology
2007 Maame Aba Coleman, M.D. Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, Texas
Obstetrics & Gynecology
2006 Sonni Elliott, M.D. University of Illinois
College of Medicine in Chicago
2005 Janine Pettiford, M.D. Baylor University
2004 Lashonda Williams, M.D. Louisiana State University
Health Sciences Center
General Surgery
2003 Deidra Crews, M.D. Johns Hopkins University
Internal Medicine
2002 James Stewart III, M.D. Howard University
Orthopedic Surgery
2001 Janet Williams, M.D. Kaiser Permanente, Los Angeles, CA
Obstetrics & Gynecology
2000 Meredith Webb, M.D. George Washington University
Internal Medicine
Critical Care
Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2017  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid