GME Committee

The Graduate Medical Education Committee consists of at least 14 voting members selected from the faculty of the clinical departments. At least one voting member from the faculty or affiliated clinical sites must be a Patient Safety or Quality Improvement Officer. Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Neurology, Family Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Surgery each has one standing member appointed to the Committee for a three-year term. At least four Residents (elected by their peers) serve one-year terms. Selected School of Medicine and affiliated teaching hospital administrators are invited to serve as ex officio members. Urology, Plastic Surgery, and Neurosurgery have one standing member on the Committee alternating two-year terms; Otolaryngology and Orthopaedic Surgery have one standing member on the Committee alternating two-year terms; Ophthalmology and Dermatology have one standing member on the Committee alternating two-year terms; Pathology, Radiology and Anesthesiology have one standing member on the Committee alternating two-year terms. Newly appointed clinical departmental chairs serve on the committee during their initial year in order to become familiar with the Committee's function.

The Graduate Medical Education Committee is chaired by the Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education. Members ex officio are the Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs, the Chief Medical Officer of SSMH Saint Louis University Hospital, the Vice President Medical Affairs of the major affiliates (SSMH Cardinal Glennon Children's Hospital, SSMH St. Mary's Health Center, Mercy Hospital), the Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Affairs, the Ombudsman for GME, and the ACOS for Education of the Veterans Administration Hospital. The Graduate Medical Education Committee meets monthly and maintains minutes of its deliberations.

pan_1 pan_2 pan_3 pan_4 pan_5
pan_11 pan_22 pan_33 pan_44 pan_55

Saint Louis University School of Medicine || 1402 South Grand Blvd Rm M260 || St. Louis, Missouri 63104
Email: || Phone: 314-977-9853

First established in 1983 as the Institutional Residency Review Committee, the GMEC (since 1990) functions as the oversight committee for the School’s Graduate Medical Education Programs (residency, subspecialty, and fellowship programs).

2017 - 2018 GMEC Housestaff Members

Scott Calder, Emergency Medicine

Kayla Donnawell, Emergency Medicine

Samkon Gado, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

Christine Henderson, General Surgery

Sohail Nibras, Psychiatry

Margaret Rozier, Pediatrics

Irshad Shakir, Orthopaedic Surgery

Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2017  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid