December 12, 2013

University Communications

Presidential Awards Recipients Celebrate 3,610 Cumulative Years of Service

More than 150 employees from across Saint Louis University were honored at the Presidential Service Awards breakfast Wednesday, Dec. 11, in the Wool Ballroom at Busch Student Center. The annual event recognizes those who have been a part of the SLU community for 25 years or more.

Patty Haberberger, interim vice president for human resources, welcomed the crowd with words of appreciation for the individual and collective excellence the honorees bring to University.

Haberberger also shared information about how the accumulated years of service breaks down:

  • 3,610 years
  • 43,320 months
  • 15,811,800 days
  • 779,483,200 hours

Interim President Bill Kauffman, J.D., a member of the SLU community for 18 years, reflected on how the University has been transformed throughout the years and how each of the honorees had helped make that happen.

"This is a celebration of you, who in your own way have day after day and year after year lied our mission -- the pursuit of truth for the greater glory of God and for the service of humanity," Kauffman said. "None of what we have achieved would have been possible without the faculty and staff that serve the University,"

The program also included a "Then and Now" slide show and reflections from Michael Wolff, J.D., dean of the School of Law, and Mary Bruemmer, an alumna who also has served the University in many capacities over the years, including dean of women and dean of student affairs, and now as a volunteer in the department of mission and ministry.

Awards marking 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50 and 55 years at SLU were presented to the following employees:

Fifty-Five Years of Service

  • Paul A. Young, Ph.D.

Fifty Years of Service

  • James F. Scott, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Edward M. Wittgen, Jr., M.D.

Forty-Five Years of Service

  • William C. Brennan, Ph.D.
  • William E. Charron, Ph.D.
  • Paul Garcia, Ph.D.
  • Ruth A. Hildebrand
  • John P. Keathley, Ph.D.
  • Ik-Whan G. Kwon, Ph.D.
  • Philipp A. Stoeberl, Ph.D.
  • W.D. Wacker, Ph.D.

Forty Years of Service

  • Robert D. Aldridge, Ph.D.
  • Judith H. Carlson
  • Jesse A. Goldner, J.D.
  • Michael P. Grady, Ph.D.
  • Duane P. Grandgenett, Ph.D.
  • Ellen Harshman, J.D., Ph.D.
  • Eric J. Haug
  • Kathleen J. Humphrey
  • Marguerite E. Kupferer
  • Darlene Lawson
  • William A. Marsek
  • Paul A. Melnik
  • Stephen W. Miller, D.B.A.
  • Dennis M. O'Connor.
  • Ronald J. Paulick

Thirty-Five Years of Service

  • Stewart G. Albert, M.D.
  • Stanley Davis
  • Loretta Edwards
  • Bernard Feinberg, M.D.
  • Peggy A. Fisher
  • Ethel Frese, D.P.T.
  • Thomas Gantner
  • John M. Greisbach, J.D.
  • Keith N. Griffin, Sr.
  • Stephanie Haley
  • Alan J. Howard, J.D.
  • Martha R. Huggans-White
  • William W. Kim, M.D.
  • Claudette Klein, Ph.D.
  • Bruce A. Kowert, Ph.D.
  • Reuven Levery, Ph.D.
  • Rodney Lusk, M.D.
  • Stephen G. Magocm
  • Henry M. Ordower, J.D.
  • Sandra Pritt
  • George J. Renard
  • Thomas Ruddy, Ph.D.
  • Daniel Tolbert, Ph.D.
  • Melanie L. Whittington
  • Michael K. Wolverson, M.D.
  • Catherine M. Zimmer

Thirty Years of Service

  • Syed Abbas, M.D.
  • Charlotte L. Avett
  • Joann M. Biehl
  • Susan A. Brown
  • Richard D. Bucholz, M.D.
  • Mary L. Busby
  • Bernard R. Chaitman, M.D.
  • Robert T. Dennison
  • Issak I. Dore, J.D.
  • Donald G. Elitt
  • Kirsten Ellis
  • Matthew E. Fox
  • Stanislaw Frankowski
  • Michael A. Graham, M.D.
  • Stephanie L. Hall
  • Gregory K. Haney
  • Eric Heightman
  • Dana S. Hinterleitner
  • David A. Jackson, Ph.D.
  • Susan R. Lee
  • Mildred Mattfeldt-Beman, Ph.D.
  • Francis A. Mithen, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Michael A. Moxley, Ph.D.
  • Alireza Nasseh, Ph.D.
  • Daniel L. Neibert
  • Jeanette Peeples
  • Horace M. Perry, III, M.D.
  • Charles A. Pollard, Ph.D.
  • Brenda J. Rainey
  • Linda J. Russell
  • Farouk H. Sadiq, M.D.
  • Scott R. Safranski, Ph.D.
  • Anthony J. Scalzo, M.D.
  • Debra A. Schierhoff
  • Jody Smith, Ph.D.
  • Alan H. Stephenson, Ph.D.
  • Shirley M. Stringer
  • Thirugnana Subamanian, Ph.D.
  • Ernst M. Taeger
  • Valerie A. Tanner
  • Anthony G. Thomas
  • C. Michael Tsau, Ph.D.
  • Samuel G. Tyson
  • Ellen G. Wood
  • Hans P. Zassenhaus, Ph.D.

Twenty-Five Years of Service

  • Paul L. Acker, Ph.D.
  • Eva M. Barringhaus
  • Russell D. Blyth, Ph.D.
  • Jean E. Bono
  • Delouis Booth
  • Marianne R. Brady
  • Daniel P. Bramer
  • Kevin M. Brunts
  • Jeffrey L. Chenoweth, M.D.
  • Shirley A. Christisen
  • James W. DeBoard, M.D.
  • James T. Denninger
  • Jacqueline B. Elliott
  • Mary L. Ellsworth, Ph.D.
  • Cynthia R. Fredrick
  • Roobik Gharabagi, Ph.D.
  • Stanley A. Glover
  • Patricia L. Gregory, Ph.D.
  • Lois C. Hamrick, Ph.D.
  • Donald E. Hardaway, Ph.D.
  • Lori L. Hartig
  • Jan A. Heizer
  • Jan Herweg
  • Richard L. Horton Jr.
  • Muhammad Q. Islam, Ph.D.
  • Patricia A. Jenkins
  • Valerie M. Jenkins
  • Jerome A. Katz, Ph.D.
  • Debra Keith
  • Dale A. Kuehn
  • Christopher Long, Ph.D.
  • Carol D. Lunning
  • Gerald M. Mahon, M.D.
  • Tim E. Moser
  • Lora M. Mueller
  • Kathy A. Neiger
  • Grace N. Pulsipher
  • Tim R. Randolph, Ph.D.
  • Krishnaswamy Ravindra, Ph.D.
  • William T. Rebore, Ph.D.
  • Jeanne A. Rhodes
  • Terry R. Riffey
  • Charlotte S. Robinson
  • Catherine C. Rodgers
  • James A. Romanchuk
  • Debra A. Saunders
  • James D. Shoemaker, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Denise P. Sleet, Ph.D.
  • Herschel E. Smith Jr.
  • Karen S. Stocke
  • Debra L. Striler
  • Dennis L. Thompson
  • Renumathi Subamanian
  • Mariann T. Wallenberg
  • Ruby Walls
  • Ron Ward
  • Luann M. Weiss
  • Betty J. Williams
  • Kathleen S. Wright, Ed.D.
  • Lisa M. Zoia

Presidential Service Awards Recipients (July 1, 2012 through Dec. 31, 2013)More than 150 employees from across Saint Louis

LU employees from across the campus who have worked at the University from 25 to 55 years were recognized by Interim President Bill Kauffman, J.D., at the Presidential Service Awards breakfast. Photo by Michelle Peltier
Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2017  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid