Saint Louis University

Tim Randolph
Tim Randolph, Ph.D.

Tim Randolph, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of the Department of Clinical Laboratory Science accepted two distinguished awards from the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science, the Kleiner Memorial Award and Rho Sigma Service Award.

The Kleiner Memorial Award is an annual award given by ASCLS for the best scientific article in Clinical Laboratory Science, the official journal of the ASCLS. All papers published in Clinical Laboratory Science during the calendar year are considered for the award. The author of the article is awarded $1,000 and a celebratory plaque at the ASCLS Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony. The Kleiner Award is endowed by the Joseph J. Kleiner Memorial Fund, established by Judy Kleiner in honor of her father, the 1949 inventor of the BD Vacutainer Blood Collection System.

Randolph was also selected as the winner of the Rho Sigma Distinguished Service Award for service to ASCLS Region VI and the profession of clinical laboratory science. The award is peer-nominated and the awardee must be from Region VI, which covers Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska. Selection of the award is made by a committee appointed by the ASCLS Region VI Director.

The American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science is the pre-eminent organization for clinical laboratory science practitioners. ASCLS provides dynamic leadership and promotes all aspects of clinical laboratory science practice, education and management to ensure excellent, accessible cost-effective laboratory services for health care consumers.