Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in 19 states: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Ten Jesuit institutions of higher education are accredited by the HLC: Creighton, Detroit-Mercy, John Carroll, Loyola-Chicago, Marquette, Regis, Rockhurst, SLU, Wheeling Jesuit, and Xavier.

For an overview of institutional accreditation, regional accreditors, and the HLC, click here

For detailed information about the Higher Learning Commission, click here

For HLC Institution Directory information about SLU, click here

For our Statement of Affiliation Status with the Higher Learning Commission, click here

Saint Louis University has assigned Dr. Steve Sanchez as its liaison to the HLC. You may contact Dr. Sanchez for more information about SLU and its accreditation via the HLC:

Dr. Steve Sanchez
Assistant Provost, Office of the Provost

Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2017  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid