Saint Louis University

State Authorization - Distance Learning

Saint Louis University is authorized, exempted from authorization, or not subject to approval to conduct distance education activity in any SLU academic program - including online courses and programs as well as on-ground clinicals, practica, field experiences, and internships - in the states shown in blue below. All exceptions to these statuses are listed below the map.

  SARA Map


1) Florida - SLU may offer all programs in Florida except Education. 

2) New York - SLU may NOT place students in clinical internships related to certain licensed professions, the practices of which are typically restricted to licensed persons or students enrolled in educational programs approved or registered by the Department. See for a current complete list of the affected professions. The Office of the Provost will secure authorizations on a program-by-program basis.


Important Information About:


Saint Louis University is not regulated in Texas under Chapter 132 of the Texas Education Code. (In other words, SLU has met the Texas Workforce Commission requirements, and, therefore, the University does not fall under the category of institutions that TWC regulates under chapter 132 of the Texas Education Code. SLU is authorized to conduct online education and clinicals, practica, internships, and field experience in the state of Texas.)


Please note: This applies to our distance learning programs ONLY. Students from other states who are interested in our on campus programs are encouraged to contact the Office of Admission ( or 314-977-2500) for undergraduate programs or Graduate Admission ( or 800-SLU-FOR-U) for graduate programs.


State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA)

As of March 13, 2015, Saint Louis University is a participant in the SARA initiative, which is a state-level reciprocity process aimed at making the effort to obtain state authorizations more efficient for institutions and to make it easier for students to enroll in distance education programs outside of the states in which they reside. Institutions that are members of SARA are authorized to provide education to students from all SARA member states. States and institutions that choose to become members of SARA operate under a set of policies and standards that are overseen by the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) and administered by four regional higher education compacts. For more information about the SARA initiative and the progress of state and institutional membership, please visit



Saint Louis University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), one of six regional instituational accrediting agencies recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The University is also chartered to operate in Missouri by the Office of the Secretary of State and operates in full compliance with the Missouri Department of Higher Education.


Complaint Resolution

Saint Louis University strives to provide the highest quality educational experience for all of its students. However, if a conflict does arise, in accordance with federal law (see 34 C.F.R., Section 600.9), Saint Louis University identifies the processes by which students may file complaints about the University with each U.S. state governing board or commission that governs University educational activity. A list of appropriate state boards/commissions, as well as contact information and links to pertinent websites, is provided here.

Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2017  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid