Saint Louis University

Women of The Year 2008

Women of the Year Recognition Event Honors Five

2008 Women of the Year Luncheon
April 23rd
Ballroom in Busch Student Center

A springtime tradition at SLU since 1977, Wednesday's annual Women of the Year recognition event honored five outstanding women: Debbie J. Barbeau, Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Programs, John Cook School of Business; Marla Berg-Weger, Ph.D., Senior Associate Provost, Professor of Social Work, & Interim Dean, CEPS; Donna R. Bess, Associate Director of Student Life, Student Development; Caitlin E. Clegg, Senior, John Cook School of Business; and Jeanne L. Hunt, Alumni Assistant, Alumni Relations Office/Medical Center.

From left to right, back row: University President Lawrence Biondi, S.J., University Provost Dr. Joseph Weixlmann, Caitlin E. Clegg, and Donna R. Bess; front row: Women's Commission Founder Mary Bruemmer, Debbie J. Barbeau, Marla Berg-Weger, Ph.D., and Jeanne L. Hunt.
Photo by Kim Scharringhausen

The offices of the president, the provost, and vice presidents and deans paid tribute to the women in their departments whose daily contributions to the University mission and to campus life are exemplary.

DEBRA J. BARBEAU, a member of the Accounting faculty in the John Cook School of Business, presently serves as Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Programs. Inspiring teacher and mentor, her genuine concern for the individual student carries over into her involvement in a variety of campus-wide student development activities.

MARLA BERG-WEGER, Ph.D., currently serves as Senior Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education, Professor of Social Work, and Interim Dean of the College of Education and Public Service. A national leader and published author in her own profession of Social Work, she has made her administrative leadership available to the university in a variety of roles, committee participation, and departmental development.

DONNA R. BESS, Associate Director of Student Life, moved to that position after two productive years as Coordinator of Student Life and Director of the Cross Cultural Center in Busch Student Center. That followed a decade of work with student organizations and programs which won her numerous student-initiated awards and national recognition.

CAITLIN E. CLEGG, Senior in the John Cook School of Business, is co-chair of the Student Advisory Board of the Service Leadership Certificate Program. She has proven in many ways her ability to lead her peers in service opportunities, amassing over 340 hours of community service since her freshman year.

JEANNE L. HUNT, Alumni Assistant in the Alumni Relations Office/Medical Center has served students and alumni of the University since May, 1968. She worked also in the areas of undergraduate admissions and of university events. Her dedication to the university and to its students and alumni, through several periods of transition, have been exemplary.

Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2017  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid