Saint Louis University

Saint Louis University has numerous Research Compliance committees that greatly strengthen the University's ability to maintain effective compliance with policy and regulatory requirements. These committees additionally facilitate researcher's access to the services, information, and assistance, which are provided by compliance committees.

Research Compliance Committees and contact information are provided below:

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)
The Animal Care Committee provides oversight of all institutional programs and facilities for the care and use of laboratory animals, enhances quality research and teaching, and ensures compliance with all relevant laws and regulations.
Committee Chair: John Chrivia, Ph.D.
Contact Person: Steve Tinge


Institutional Review Board (IRB)
The Institutional Review Board is established to protect the rights and welfare of human research subjects recruited to participate in research activities conducted under the auspices of Saint Louis University. At Saint Louis University, there are three IRBs, two that meet routinely, one ad hoc, that are responsible for reviewing all research involving human subjects for compliance with federally mandated research guidelines.
Committee Chairs: Oleg Kisselev, Ph.D., Joanne Schneider, Ph.D.
Contact Person: Melissa Fink

Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (COIRC)
The Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (COIRC) is committed to advancing research and fostering an entrepreneurial spirit at Saint Louis University while maintaining objectivity and integrity in research. The COIRC provides oversight for COI education, recommends policy, and reviews COI disclosures If a conflicting situation arises that will require management, the COIRC will work in cooperation with the individual to develop and implement an appropriate management plan.
Committee Chair: Theodore Malmstrom, PhD
Contact Person: Libby Tempel

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)
The Institutional Biosafety Committee assesses the safety of research involving biohazardous agents, as well as recombinant DNA research, including human gene transfer trials, and identifies potential risks to public health or the environment.
Committee Chair: Geoffrey Gorse, M.D.
Contact Person: Mark Campbell


Radiation Safety Committee
The primary function of the Radiation Safety Committee is the oversight of the use of radionuclides in the University, as required in Title 10 of the Federal Code of Regulations. This committee establishes policies and procedures for the safe use of radionuclides, which conform to the applicable provisions of federal, state, and local regulations, inclusive of specific conditions contained in licenses and permits granted to Saint Louis University by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), State of Missouri, or local government authority. The Committee approves all amendments to existing licenses, renewals of licenses, and applications for additional licenses before submission to the NRC.
Committee Chair: Paul Loewenstein
Contact Person: Mark Haenchen