Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

MenuSearch & Directory

Arundhati Roy

Arundhati Roy
Photo courtesy of Mayak Austen

Saint Louis University Library Associates announces author Arundhati Roy as the recipient of the 2022 St. Louis Literary Award. 

Watch the 2022 St. Louis Literary Award Ceremony

The award ceremony, moderated by Dr. Amber Johnson, was held Thursday, April 28, 2022, at the Sheldon Concert Hall. A craft talk, moderated by Dr. Joya Uraizee, was held on the following day on the campus of Saint Louis University.

Watch the Craft Talk

About Arundhati Roy

Roy is the author of the novel "The God of Small Things," which received the 1997 Booker Prize and was listed as a New York Times notable book of the year.

Roy’s second novel "The Ministry of Utmost Happiness" was named to the Man Booker long list in 2017 and was named a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Roy has been honored with Lannan Foundation’s Prize for Cultural Freedom (2002); the Sydney Peace Prize (2004); the George Orwell Award from the National Council of Teachers of English (2004); and the Norman Mailer Prize for Distinguished Writing (2011).

“First and foremost, Arundhati Roy is an exceptional writer whose work has made a profound impact culturally, socially, and politically. What resonates through her writings as an essayist, novelist, and screenwriter is a voice that is unwaveringly honest and compelling,” said Edward Ibur, Executive Director of the St. Louis Literary Award. “Ms. Roy has been a bright star in the literary universe for more than 30 years, and we are so fortunate to have her join our amazing roster of writers who have received the St. Louis Literary Award at SLU for more than 50 years.”

The 2021 award winner, Zadie Smith, was honored Thursday, Nov. 4, at the Sheldon Concert Hall. A craft talk took place on Friday, Nov. 5.