Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

St. Louis Literary Award

For the past fifty years, the Saint Louis University Library Associates has conferred the St. Louis Literary Award on the most important writers of our time and celebrate the contributions of literature in enriching our lives. The St. Louis Literary Award is known as one of the top literary prizes in the country.

From 1967 until 1981, the award was known as the Messing Award in honor of Roswell and Wilma Messing, Jr., who provided the initial funding for the prize. The highlight of each year, at least since 1967, has been the selection of the recipient and the presentation of the St. Louis Literary Award to a distinguished figure in literature.

Past Recipients of the Saint Louis Literary Award

The list of awardees of this prize reflects numerous Nobel laureates, Pulitzer Prize winners, and National Book Award recipients.