Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Academy of Medical Educators

The goals and mission of the Academy of Medical Educators at Saint Louis University include:

  • Recognizing medical educators for their teaching activities, their educational scholarship and innovation, and their leadership.
  • Fostering an environment that promotes the continuous improvement of teaching.
  • Encouraging educators to link teaching and learning to improved patient outcomes and health care systems performance.
  • Rewarding educators for their efforts through promotion and public recognition.

The Academy at the Saint Louis University School of Medicine consists of two arms, an honorific pathway and a developmental pathway. Applications for the developmental pathway are accepted on a rolling basis.

Current Academy Members


  • Stuart Slavin, M.D.
  • Gregory S. Smith, Ph.D.
    Professor of Surgery and Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
  • Jamie Sutherell, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Dean for Student Affairs
  • Carole Vogler, M.D.
    Professor and Chair of the Department of Pathology
  • H. Douglas Walden, M.D. 
    Professor of General Internal Medicine
  • Thomas C. Westfall, Ph.D.
    William Beaumont Professor
    Chair emeritus, Department of Pharmacological and Physiological Science


  • Vincent Gibbons, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Neurology
  • Lynda Morrison, Ph.D.
    Professor of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology 

Currently Enrolled (Developmental)

  • John R. Martin III, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Surgery
    Director of Center for Anatomical Science and Education

Faculty Affairs Subcommittee on Faculty Development of Educators

Special thanks for all the efforts of the Faculty Affairs Subcommittee on Faculty Development of Educators in developing this concept for ongoing support of educators.

  • Julie K. Gammack, M.D.
  • Kenneth A. Haller, M.D.
  • Jane McHowat, Ph.D
  • Gina M. Merys, Ph.D.
  • Lynda Morrison, Ph.D.
  • Gregory S. Smith, Ph.D.
  • Jamie Sutherell, M.D.
  • Doug Walden, M.D.
  • Barbara Whitman, Ph.D.

Small Grants Program

To encourage development and dissemination of education innovation, a small grants program (awards of $2,500) will be offered.