Office of Curricular Affairs

The Office of Curricular Affairs within the Saint Louis University School of Medicine maintains the academic policies for the M.D. program.

Our office provides students with course syllabi, oversees the production of all exams and maintains M.D. program course evaluation records. It also coordinates site visits from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education Accreditation (LCME) and compiles the LCME annual report.

OASIS is a medical school application only. If you are not a faculty member, staff member or a student in the School of Medicine you will not have access to this feature. Need assistance? Contact us at 314-977-8077, ext. 4215.

View the OASIS Public Calendar

Curriculum Summary

The content of each course within SLU’s M.D. curriculum is determined by its director, in consultation with the teaching faculty and in keeping with national guidelines. The course directors also choose the most appropriate teaching modalities (lectures, laboratories, computer assignments, small group problem-solving sessions, hands-on clinical experiences, etc.) based on the course content and faculty expertise. This organizational structure has produced an overall plan of study that can be best characterized as a "hybrid curriculum," containing elements of both conventional and problem-based teaching programs.

Team Teaching

Almost every course in SLU’s Year 1 and Year 2 medical school curriculum is taught by a team of faculty (sometimes as many as 20 or more) from multiple departments. Each faculty member brings his or her expertise into the lecture hall, laboratory and small group activities to provide you with the best foundation of basic science and clinical knowledge and experience possible.

The management of this curriculum is centralized so that the school, rather than individual departments, defines the educational policies and determines the content of the M.D. degree program. The Curriculum Management Committee is responsible for the design, implementation and evaluation of the entire undergraduate curriculum. This committee is chaired by School of Medicine’s associate dean for curriculum and is made up of faculty and students.

Curricular Affairs Staff

Chad S. Miller, M.D., FACP, FHM
Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
chad.miller@health.slu.edu

James Duffy, S.J., M.D.
Associate Dean for Clinical Curriculum and Medical Director of the Clinical Skills Center
314-977-8087
james.duffy@health.slu.edu

Wesley Burch
Education Specialist, Simulation Center
314-977-8445
wesley.burch@health.slu.edu

Debbie Crisler
Administrative Secretary, Year 2
314-977-8074
deborah.crisler@health.slu.edu

Cindy Fairchild
Administrative Assistant, Year 1
314-977-8073
cynthia.fairchild@health.slu.edu

Jennifer Greathouse
Coordinator, Academic Records
314-977-9812
jennifer.greathouse@health.slu.edu

Therese A. Heidemann
Coordinator
314-977-4215
therese.heidemann@health.slu.edu

Denise Parker
Office Manager
314-977-8077
denise.parker@health.slu.edu

Nanette Parris
Facilities Coordinator
314-977-8086
nanette.parris@health.slu.edu

Debra Schindler, Ph.D.
Director, Program Evaluation
314-977-8077
debra.schindler@health.slu.edu

Denise Townsend
Program Director, Clinical Skills Center
314-977-8097
denise.townsend@health.slu.edu

Laura Willingham
Coordinator, Year 3 and Year 4
314-977-4158
laura.willingham@health.slu.edu