Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

GME Committee

Saint Louis University’s Graduate Medical Education Committee functions as the oversight committee for the School of Medicine’s residency, subspecialty and fellowship programs.


The Graduate Medical Education Committee consists of at least 14 voting members selected from the faculty of the clinical departments. 

At least one voting member from the faculty or affiliated clinical sites must be a patient safety or quality improvement officer.

The departments of internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, neurology, family medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, and surgery each has one standing member appointed to the committee for a three-year term.

At least four residents (elected by their peers) serve one-year terms. 

Selected School of Medicine and affiliated teaching hospital administrators are invited to serve as ex-officio members.

  • The Division of Emergency Medicine, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Department of Anesthesiology, Department of Critical Care, Surgical specialties, Department of Internal Medicine, Pediatrics specialties and Department of Radiology or radiology specialties all have one standing member on the committee standing two-year terms.
  • Otolaryngology and ophthalmology have one standing member on the committee alternating two-year terms
  • Dermatology and pathology have one standing member on the committee alternating two-year terms

Newly appointed clinical departmental chairs serve on the committee during their initial year in order to become familiar with the committee's function. 

2022-2023 GMEC House Staff Members

Three-Year Term
Member Department Term
Gregory Ward, M.D. OB/GYN 7/21-6/24
Jafar Kafaie, M.D. Neurology 7/21-6/24
Elizabeth Keegan-Garrett, M.D. Family and Community Medicine 7/21-6/24
Michael Williams, M.D. Surgery 7/22-6/25
Robert Brooker Pediatrics 7/22-6/25
Catalina Belean, M.D. Psychiatry 7/22-6/25
Fred Buckhold, M.D. Internal Medicine 7/22-6/25
Two-Year Term
Member Department Term
Kene Chukwuanu, M.D. Emergency Medicine 7/22-6/24
Liz Cohen, M.D. Anesthesiology 7/22-6/24
Nisha Mangalat, M.D. Pediatrics 7/22-6/24
Alejandro Mendez-Castillo, M.D. Radiology 7/22-6/24
David Greenberg, M.D. Orthopaedic Surgery 7/22-6/24
Jo-Ann Jose, M.D. Internal Medicine 7/22-6/24
Joe Brunworth, M.D. Otolaryngology 7/21-6/24
Michael Bernstein, M.D., Ph.D. Surgery 7/21-6/24
Emily Reisenbichler, M.D. Pathology 7/22-6/24
One-Year Term
Member Department Term
Nicole Burkemper, M.D. Dermatology 7/22-6/23
Sharon Grabosch, M.D. OB/GYN 7/22-6/23
Rafif Ghadban, M.D. Ophthalmology 7/22-6/23
Amy Bilyeu OB/GYN 7/22-6/23
Sean Massa, M.D. Otolaryngology 7/22-6/23
Adam Kilian, M.D. Internal Medicine 7/22-6/23
Gillian Heinecke, M.D. Internal Medicine 7/22-6/23
Joseph Wheeler, M.D. Internal Medicine 7/22-6/23
Justin Purdy, M.D. Internal Medicine 7/22-6/23
Ex Officio
Member Department
Barbara Whitman, Ph.D. Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Gabriela Espinoza, M.D. Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Patricia McKelvy, M.D. ACOS, Research and Education
Dani O'Brien, B.S.N. Patient Safety and Quality Specialist, SSM
Jessica Warren, B.S.N., RN Clinical Outcomes Specialist, SSM
Ranaa Ponstingl, M.D. Vice President, Medical Affairs, St. Mary's
Chad Miller, M.D. Associate Dean, UME
Laura Frame Associate General Counsel, SLU
Matt Broom, M.D. Chief Medical Officer, SLUH
Marya Strand, M.D. Chief Medical Officer, Cardinal Glennon Hospital
Collin Russell Emergency Medicine


Resident Members (One-Year Term): By SLURA nomination
Jay Shah, D.O. Internal Medicine 7/22-6/23
Megan Monohan, M.D. OB/GYN 7/22-6/23
Nabiha Quadri, M.D. Neurosurgery 7/22-6/23
Vatche Melkonian, D.O. Surgery 7/22-6/23
Marissa Hirsch, M.D. Psychiatry 7/22-6/23
Jacob Grodsky, M.D. Ophthalmology 7/22-6/23
Mohammad Khasawneh, M.D. Neurology 7/22-6/23
Stacy Mathews, M.D. Pediatrics 7/22-6/23
2021-2022 GMEC House Staff Members
  • Kate Alemann, M.D.
  • Connor Clarkston, M.D.
  • Caitlin Francoisse, M.D.
  • Vatche Melkonian, D.O.
  • Meghan Monohan, M.D.
  • Nabiha Quadri, M.D.
  • Hiren Patel, M.D. 
2020-2021 GMEC House Staff Members
  • Bryan Beck, M.D.
  • Caitlin Francoisse, M.D.
  • Jim Gallogly, M.D.
  • Amy Gallop Weagely, M.D.
  • Tikku George, M.D.
  • Nabiha Quadri, M.D.
  • Amith Reddy, M.D.
2019-2020 GMEC House Staff Members
  • Bryan Beck, M.D.
  • Mina Boutrous, M.D.
  • Fernand Bteich, M.D.
  • Jennifer Keller, M.D.
  • Ashley Boerrigter, M.D.
  • Iris Chang, M.D.
  • Amanie Salem, M.D.
2018-19 GMEC House Staff Members
  • Zarir Ahmed, D.O.
  • Mina Boutrous, M.D.
  • Fernand Bteich, M.D.
  • Jennifer Keller, M.D.
  • Aaron Miller, M.D.
  • Michael Prim, M.D.
2017-18 GMEC House Staff Members
  • Scott Calder, M.D.
  • Kayla Donnawell, M.D.
  • Samkon Gado, M.D.
  • Christine Henderson, M.D.
  • Sohail Nibras, M.D.
  • Margaret Rozier, M.D.
  • Irshad Shakir, M.D.

Purpose of the Graduate Medical Education Committee

  • Establishment of institutional policies for graduate medical education as detailed in the institutional requirements.
  • Establishment and maintenance of appropriate liaison with residency directors and with the administrators of other institutions participating in programs sponsored by the institution.
  • Regular review (mid-cycle and pre-RRC site visit) of all residency training programs in relation to their compliance with institutional policies and the requirements of the relevant ACGME review committee.
  • Establishment and implementation of policies and procedures for the selection, evaluation, promotion and dismissal of residents.
  • Establishment and implementation of institutional policies and procedures for discipline and the adjudication of complaints and grievances relevant to the graduate medical programs. These policies and procedures must satisfy the requirements for fairness and of due process; they must apply equally to all residents, faculty and residency programs in the sponsoring and participating institutions. The GMEC must assume an educational environment in which residents may raise and resolve issues without fear, intimidation or retaliation.
  • Assurance of appropriate and equitable funding for resident positions, including benefits and support services.
  • Establishment and implementation of policies that affect all residency programs regarding the quality of education and the work environment for residents in each program, including monitoring duty hours and other work environment features as concerns are brought to the committee.
  • Regular review of the curriculum for ethical, socioeconomic, medical and legal, and cost-containment issues that affect graduate medical education and medical practices.
  • Regular review of the curriculum for communication skills, research design, statistics, and the critical review of literature; as well as resident participation in departmental scholarly activity.