Skip to main content

Saint Louis University School of Medicine Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Gladney Diversity Award

The John H. Gladney Diversity Award was established to recognize and celebrate support for diversity in the Saint Louis University School of Medicine.

The award is named after John H. Gladney, M.D., former chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology. Gladney was the first African-American to hold the position of chairman of a basic science clinical department at the Saint Louis University School of Medicine.

Gladney received a Bachelor of Arts from Talladega College, in Talladega, Alabama, and his medical degree from Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee. Gladney did his medical training at Homer G. Phillips Hospital in St. Louis, Missouri; Hines Veterans Administration Hospital in Hines, Illinois; and at the University of Chicago.

He was recognized by the National Medical Association for being one of a select few physicians who practiced for more than 50 years.

The Diversity Award is given annually to a fourth-year Saint Louis University medical student who has contributed significantly to the promotion and enhancement of diversity in the medical school. Criteria such as academic performance, extracurricular and community activities, demonstrated leadership, organizational and committee involvement, and domestic or international externships are used to select the recipient.

Past Gladney Award Recipients

Jeremy Goss, M.D.
Harvard University, Research Fellow in Surgery

Sean Smith, M.D.
Barnes-Jewish Hospital, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Jennifer Ray, M.D.
Loyola University Medical Center, Internal Medicine

George Hanna, M.D.
Loma Linda University, Neurological Surgery

Tukisa Smith, M.D.
SUNY HSC Brooklyn, Internal Medicine

Ama Karikari, M.D.
University of Arkansas - Little Rock, Pediatrics

Jia Shen, M.D.
Emory University School of Medicine, Internal Medicine

Ghassan Mohsen, M.D.
Saint Louis University Hospital, Internal Medicine

Bessevelyn Tables, M.D.
Mercy Hospital, Family Medicine

Ivy Lawson, M.D.
Saint Louis University Hospital, Diagnostic Radiology

Maame Aba Coleman, M.D.
Baylor College of Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Sonni Elliott, M.D.
University of Illinois College of Medicine

Janine Pettiford, M.D.
Baylor University

Lashonda Williams, M.D.
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, General Surgery

Deidra Crews, M.D.
Johns Hopkins University, Internal Medicine - Nephrology

James Stewart III, M.D.
Howard University, Orthopedic Surgery

Janet Williams, M.D.
Kaiser Permanente, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Meredith Webb, M.D.
George Washington University, Internal Medicine Critical Care