May 04, 2016
Bruce O'Neill

Phi Beta Kappa Inducts New Members

The Saint Louis University Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (PBK) held its induction ceremony Friday evening, April 29, in the Pere Marquette Gallery of DuBourg Hall.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest academic honor society. Its mission is to foster and recognize excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Membership is offered only to students who meet stringent PBK requirements, among them ranking in the top five percent of the junior class and the top ten percent of the senior class.

Only 276 colleges and universities in the United States have been accorded the privilege of conferring membership in Phi Beta Kappa, and only 19 of 230 Catholic colleges and universities have this privilege. The Saint Louis University Chapter of PBK was established in 1967.

The following students were inducted:

  • Kaleigh Barrett (Psychology and Spanish)
  • Smrithi Chidambaram (Biology and Anthropology) 
  • Rachel Harper (Theological Studies and International Studies)
  • Cassandra Houghton (Anthropology and Communication)
  • Rachel Nicole Kingery (Mathematics)
  • Andrea Elizabeth Lewis (Social Work)
  • Theresa Martin (Theological Studies and International Studies)
  • Lyn Mattathil (Biology)
  • Kayla Michelle McGinnis (Economics and International Studies)
  • Julia Johanna Mumm (Economics, Spanish, and International Studies) 
  • Rachel M. Patterson (Biology)
  • Natalie June Riopelle (English) 
  • Sua Ryu (Biology) 
  • Prerak Trivedi (Biology and Mathematics)
Higher purpose. Greater good.
© 1818 - 2017  SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY   |   Disclaimer   |  Mobile Site
St. Louis   |   Madrid