Skip to main content
Menu Search & Directory

Academic Units

Saint Louis University’s College for Public Health and Social Justice is comprised of three academic departments and the School of Social Work.

Behavioral Science and Health Education

Ricardo Wray, Ph.D., chair

Faculty members in our Department of Behavioral Science and Health Education focus on helping people and communities make decisions that promote better public health. Their areas of expertise include behavioral science theory, community engagement, program planning, health communication and evaluation, all of which are informed by the local community and the context in which we all live and work.

Epidemiology and Biostatistics 

Zhengmin Qian, Ph.D., M.D., chair

SLU’s Department of Biostatistics participates in research activities with innovative and methodologically diverse applications. It also provides statistical support for a number of other departments within the college.

Our faculty members maintain partnerships with local and state health departments, and governmental agencies such as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). We also place great importance on interdisciplinary collaboration within SLU and with partners at Washington University in St. Louis and the VA St. Louis Health Care System.

Biostatistics Class
Students can choose to take courses from one of three academic departments and the School of Social Work.


Health Management and Policy

Rhonda BeLue, Ph.D.

Our mission is to facilitate the transformation of motivated and service-oriented early careerists and working healthcare professionals, through practice-integrated learning, into highly competent, ethical leaders across the health industry.

Our vision is to be internationally recognized for developing ethical, innovative and responsive leaders who improve the health of the communities they serve.

Heartland Centers for Public Health & Community Capacity Development

Social Work

Noelle E. Fearn, Ph.D., director

Established in 1930, Saint Louis University’s School of Social Work is comprised of a dynamic group of faculty members who prioritize excellence in teaching, research and service.

We prepare students for professional practice, emphasizing a commitment to social justice and the empowerment of vulnerable and oppressed populations.

The School is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education.

Emmett J. and Mary Martha Doerr Center for Social Justice Education and Research

Students work with children at local school
The School of Social Work offers students the chance to work in their communities.