Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Faculty in the Center for Neuroscience

The Henry and Amelia Nasrallah Center for Neuroscience brings together researchers and clinicians throughout Saint Louis University who share a common interest in the neurosciences.

Members

Omar Ahmad
Omar Ahmad
Occupational Therpy
Doisy College of Health Sciences
syed.ahmad@health.slu.edu
Micheal A. Anch
Micheal A. Anch
Psychology
a.anch@health.slu.edu
Michael Ariel
Michael Ariel
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
michael.ariel@health.slu.edu
Yuna Ayala

Yuna Ayala
Biochemistry
Schoool of Medicine
yuna.ayala@health.slu.edu

Alaina Baker-Nigh
Alaina Baker-Nigh
Biology, Program in Neuroscience
College of Arts and Science
alaina.bakernigh@slu.edu
 Subhashis Banerjee
Subhashis Banerjee
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
subhashis.banerjee@health.slu.edu
Jeffrey Bishop
Jeffrey Bishop
Center for Health Care Ethics
jeffrey.bishop@slu.edu
Tony Buchanan

Tony Buchanan
Psychology
College of Arts and Sciences
tony.buchanan@slu.edu

Andrew Butler

Andrew Butler
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
andrew.butler@health.slu.edu

Anutosh Chakraborty

Anutosh Chakraborty
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
anutosh.chakraborty@health.slu.edu

Pratap Chand

Pratap Chand
Neurology
School of Medicine
pratap.chand@health.slu.edu

Liz Chiarello
Liz Chiarello
Sociology and Anthropology
liz.chiarello@slu.edu
Yi-Fang Chiu
Yi-Fang Chiu
Communication Science and Disorders
yifang.chiu@health.slu.edu
Daniel Daly

Daniel Daly
Center for Anatomical Science and Education
School of Medicine
daniel.daly@health.slu.edu

Timothy Doyle

Timothy Doyle
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
timothy.doyle@health.slu.edu

Meghan Doherty
Meghan Doherty
Occupational Therapy
Doisy College of Health Sciences
meghan.doherty@health.slu.edu
Terrance Egan
Terrance Egan
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
terrance.egan@health.slu.edu
Susan Farr

Susan Farr
Internal Medicine - Geriatrics
School of Medicine
susan.farr@health.slu.edu

Colin Flaveny

Colin Flaveny
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
Colin.Flaveny@health.slu.edu

Yan Gai
Yan Gai
Biomedical Engineering
yan.gai@slu.edu
Koyal Garg

Koyal Garg
Biomedical Engineering
koyal.garg@slu.edu

George Grossberg
George Grossberg
Psychiatry
School of Medicine
george.grossberg@health.slu.edu
 
Daniel Hawiger
Daniel Hawiger
Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
School of Medicine
daniel.hawiger@health.slu.edu
 
Brenda Kirchhoff
Brenda Kirchhoff
Psychology
College of Arts and Sciences
brenda.kirchhoff@health.slu.edu
Mark Knuepfer
Mark Knuepfer
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
mark.knuepfer@health.slu.edu
Grant Kolar
Grant Kolar
Pathology
School of Medicine
grant.kolar@health.slu.edu
Sergey Korolev
Sergey Korolev
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
School of Medicine
sergrey.korolev@health.slu.edu
Heather MacArthur
Heather MacArthur
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
heather.macarthur@health.slu.edu
John Martin
John Martin
Surgery
Center for Anatomical Science and Education
School of Medicine
john.martin@health.slu.edu
Philippe Mercier

Philippe Mercier
Neurosurgery
Surgery
philippe.mercier@health.slu.edu

Andy Nguyen
Andy Nguyen
Internal Medicine - Geriatrics
School of Medicine
andy.d.nguyen@health.slu.edu
Andrew Oberle

Andrew Oberle
Development Director
Medical Center Development
andrew.oberle@slu.edu

Judith Ogilvie
Judith Ogilvie
Biology
College of Arts and Sciences
judith.ogilvie@slu.edu
 
Whitney Postman

Whitney Postman
Communication Science and Disorders
Doisy College of Health Sciences
drwhitney.postman@slu.edu

Fred Rottnek
Fred Rottnek
Family and Community Medicine
fred.rottnek@health.slu.edu
Daniela Salvemini
 
Daniela Salvemini
Daniela Salvemini
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
daniela.salvemini@health.slu.edu
 
Daniela Salvemini Ph.D, is professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Physiology at Saint Louis University School of Medicine. She is also the director of the Henry and Amelia Nasrallah Center for Neuroscience at SLU and a fellow of the Saint Louis Academy of Science.
 

Salvemini received her B.Sc from Kings College in London and her Ph.D. from the University of London under the mentorship of the Nobel Laureate Professor Sir John Vane FRS.

Prior to joining Saint Louis University, she spent 15 years in the private sector prior, where she led drug discovery efforts on anti-inflammatories and analgesics. Her lab is highly translational and uses multidisciplinary approaches to unravel molecular and biochemical signatures of chronic pain to identify and validate novel targets for therapeutic intervention. Her research efforts enabled drug discovery efforts towards the development of novel non-opioid based analgesics for the treatment of chronic pain states.

Salvemini  is also chief scientific advisor and chair of the research advisory board of BioIntervene Inc., a SLU based start-up which she founded in 2014. BioIntervene Inc. is developing novel analgesics based on discoveries made in her lab.

Salvemini’s research achievements are reflected in over 200 peer-reviewed papers and book chapters, as well as several awards including the Fellows Awards from the Saint Louis Academy of Science, Outstanding Scientist Award. She is a reviewer for several scientific journals and a grant reviewer for the NIH and several private foundations. Her lab is funded by grants from the NIH, foundations and the private sector.

 

 
Rick Samson
Rick Samson
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
willis.samson@health.slu.edu
 
Jeffrey Scherrer
Jeffrey Scherrer
Family and Community Medicine
jeffrey.scherrer@health.slu.edu
Fran Sverdrup
Fran Sverdrup
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
School of Medicine
fran.sverdrup@health.slu.edu
Graeme Thomas
Graeme Thomas
Office of Technology Management
graeme.thomas@slu.edu
Travis Threats
Travis Threats
Communication Science and Disorders
travis.threats@health.slu.edu
Carissa van den Berk-Clark

Carissa van den Berk-Clark
Family and Community Medicine
School of Medicine
carissa.vandenberkclark@health.slu.edu

John Walker

John Walker
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
john.walker@health.slu.edu

Thomas Westfall
Thomas Westfall
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
thomas.c.westfall@slu.edu
Fenglian Xu

Fenglian Xu
Biology
College of Arts and Sciences
fenglian.xu@slu.edu

Patrick Yeung
Patrick Yeung
Instruction-Social Work
patrick.yeung@health.slu.edu
Gina Yosten

Gina Yosten
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
gina.yosten@health.slu.edu

Scott Zahm
Scott Zahm
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
zahmds@slu.edu
Jinsong Zhang
Jinsong Zhang
Pharmacology and Physiology Science
School of Medicine
jinsong.zhang@health.slu.edu
Silviya Zustiak
Silviya Zustiak
Biomedical Engineering
Parks College of Engineering, Aviation and Technology
silviya.zustiak@slu.edu