Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

The Henry and Amelia Nasrallah Center for Neuroscience

The Henry and Amelia Nasrallah Center for Neuroscience brings together researchers and clinicians throughout Saint Louis University who share a common interest in the neurosciences.

The center is comprised of 63 members and 38 associate members across six schools/colleges in 23 departments, institutes and centers. Together we foster multi-disciplinary neuroscience research ranging from molecular to clinical studies and promote excellence in undergraduate and graduate neuroscience education.

The center was established following a generous $300,000 endowment from Henry Nasrallah, M.D., chair of SLU's Department of Psychiatry over the past five years, and his wife, Amelia, a research psychologist.


The Center for Neuroscience will advance neuroscience research, education, clinical care and outreach activities across Saint Louis University and the broader St. Louis community. The center will become a pioneering leader in advancing SLU researchers' discoveries in the field of neuroscience that will ultimately have a major impact in patient care and in society.

We believe that we can elevate the Henry and Amelia Nasrallah Center for Neuroscience at Saint Louis University to national visibility and stature through collaborative research, education and clinical programs efforts.


The mission of the Center for Neuroscience is to:

  • Provide a unifying structure for a collaborative framework of the multitude of departments across Saint Louis University that composes its neuroscience community.
  • Draw from and inform multiple disciplines to unlock the mysteries of normal and abnormal nervous system function that will lead to translational discovery and invention of new approaches to treat nervous system disorders.
  • Transform our understanding of the nervous system in health and disease through discoveries that arise from these collaborative efforts.

Affiliated Schools/Colleges and Departments

College of Arts and Sciences
  • Department of Biology
  • Department of English
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Sociology and Anthropology

College of Arts & Sciences Website

Doisy College of Health Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Clinical Health Sciences
  • Department of Communication Science & Disorders
  • Department of Occupational Therapy

Doisy College of Health Sciences Website

School of Medicine
  • Department of Anatomy, Center for Anatomical Science & Education
  • Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Department of Family and Community Medicine
  • Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Geriatrics
  • Department of Neurological Surgery
  • Department of Neurology
  • Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women's Health
  • Department of Pharmacology and Physiology
  • Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Department of Radiology

School of Medicine Website

The Center for Neuroscience Research Award (CNR)

The Center for Neuroscience Research Award (CNR) supports promising projects that have a strong potential to attract external funding. CNR awards are aimed at supporting the collection of data or other pilot activities that the awardee will use to achieve extramural funding. The CNR funds are intended for a project which is in need of additional data to achieve external funding. Applications can be individual or multidisciplinary.

The awards are three $10,000 given twice a year. We are now accepting applications. The deadlines each year are March 15  and September 15 at 5 p.m.

You can review the application guidelines and application package below.

Standing Committee Review Members for the Center for Neuroscience (CNR) Research Award are as follows. They are appointed for a two-year term that runs from Jan 1, 2021, to December 31, 2022.

  • Philip Mercier, M.D., Ph.D., FRCSC
  • Gina Yosten, Ph.D.
  • Yuna Ayala, Ph.D.
  • Andy Nguyen, Ph.D.
  • Andrew Butler, Ph.D.
  • Brenda Kirchoff, Ph.D.
  • John Walker, Ph.D.

Study Section Chair:

  • Susan Farr, Ph.D.