Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Grant Winner and Staff Awards

This program, which dates back to 1976, celebrates research excellence and recognizes success in publications or pieces and in grant submissions from the previous year. Saint Louis University's Office of the Vice President for Research issues multiple awards each year to recognize outstanding work by SLU faculty, students and research administrators. Staff Awards recognize the staff leaders in our research administration who support faculty research endeavors.

2024 Grant Winners, Faculty, Graduate Student, and Research Staff Awards

Graduate Student Awards

  • Stella Hoft, M.D./Ph.D. candidate, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology: National Institutes of Health National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, F30 Predoctoral Dual Degree Fellows Award
  • Reagan McGuffee, M.D./Ph.D. candidate, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology: National Institutes of Health National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, F30 Predoctoral Dual Degree Fellows Award

Research Administrator Award

  • Anne Miller, M.A., Research Innovation Group: Stalwart leadership of OVPR’s Research Innovation Group

Infrastructure Award

  • Ellen Barnidge, Ph.D., associate professor, Behavioral Science and Health Equity: Health Resources and Services Administration award to renovate the Wool Center

Faculty Innovation Award

  • Tim Randolph, Ph.D., professor, Clinical Health Sciences: Named a Senior Member of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) for developing more accessible diagnostics for sickle cell disease 

Top Foundation Award

  • Rachel McBride Lindsey, Ph.D., assistant professor, Theological Studies, and Pauline Lee, Ph.D., associate professor, Theological Studies: Lived Religion in the Digital Age funded by The Henry Luce Foundation Award

Teaching and Service Award

  • Gary Ritter, Ph.D., dean and professor – School of Education: U.S. Department of Education Supporting Effective Educator Development Program, P2B: Paraprofessional to Bachelor’s Degree

Research Impact and Collaboration Award 

  • Jeffrey Scherrer, Ph.D., vice chair for research and professor, Family and Community Medicine, professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience, and Richard Grucza, Ph.D., professor, Family and Community Medicine and Health Outcomes Research: National Institutes of Health All of Us Research Program, Trans America Consortium of the Health Care Systems Research Network 

Faculty Research Award

  • Jenna Gorlewicz, Ph.D., associate dean of research and innovation, School of Science and Engineering, associate professor, Mechanical Engineering: National Science Foundation Convergence Accelerator Program, Track H: Addressing the Fragmented Information Access Problem - A Community-Driven, AI-Powered Platform for Inclusive, Multimodal Content Creation
2023 Grant Winners, Faculty, Graduate Student, and Research Staff Awards

Graduate Student Awards

  • Taylor Stone, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology: F31 National Institutes of Health Fellowship
  • Monica Goodland, Pharmacology & Physiology: F30 National Institutes of Health Fellowship

Research Administrator Awards

  • Zerina Albrecht, Director, Contracts, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Stephen Schmidt, Academic & Research Director, School of Medicine

Faculty Research Awards

  • Junior Faculty Award: Kate Holdener, Ph.D., Computer Science
  • Senior Faculty Award: Juliet Iwelunmor, Ph.D., Behavioral Science and Health Education
  • Faculty Innovation Award: Lynda Morrison, Ph.D., Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
  • Faculty Innovation Award: John Tavis, Ph.D., Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
  • Teaching & Service Award: Jay Hammond, Ph.D., Theology and Randall Rosenberg, Ph.D., Philosophy & Letters

Faculty Career Awards

  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award: Piotr Mak, Ph.D., Chemistry
  • National Institutes of Health K23 Award: Sarah Gebauer, M.D., Family & Community Medicine
  • National Institutes of Health K23 Award: Jennifer Bello Kottenstette, M.D., Family & Community Medicine
2022 Grant Winners, Faculty, Graduate Student, and Research Staff Awards

Faculty Research Awards

  • Senior Faculty: Guangyong Peng, M.D., Ph.D., Internal Medicine-Infectious Diseases
  • Innovation: Stephanie Tennill, Visual and Performing Arts

Research Administrator Awards

  • Matt Renaud and Lisa Wagner, Grant Operations Center

Department Research Leadership Award

  • The Center for Vaccine Development (Getahun Abate, M.D., Ph.D., and Azra Blazevic, D.V.M.)