Skip to main content

Saint Louis University School of Medicine Header Logo Center

Menu Search

Office of Curricular Affairs

The Office of Curricular Affairs within the Saint Louis University School of Medicine maintains the academic policies for the M.D. program.

Our office provides students with course syllabi, oversees the production of all exams and maintains M.D. program course evaluation records. It also coordinates site visits from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education Accreditation (LCME) and compiles the LCME annual report.

OASIS is a medical school application only. If you are not a faculty member, staff member or a student in the School of Medicine you will not have access to this feature. Need assistance? Contact us at 314-977-8077, ext. 4215.

Curriculum Summary

The content of each course within SLU’s M.D. curriculum is determined by its director, in consultation with the teaching faculty and in keeping with national guidelines. The course directors also choose the most appropriate teaching modalities (lectures, laboratories, computer assignments, small group problem-solving sessions, hands-on clinical experiences, etc.) based on the course content and faculty expertise. This organizational structure has produced an overall plan of study that can be best characterized as a "hybrid curriculum," containing elements of both conventional and problem-based teaching programs.

Team Teaching

Almost every course in SLU’s Year 1 and Year 2 medical school curriculum is taught by a team of faculty (sometimes as many as 20 or more) from multiple departments. Each faculty member brings his or her expertise into the lecture hall, laboratory and small group activities to provide you with the best foundation of basic science and clinical knowledge and experience possible.

The management of this curriculum is centralized so that the school, rather than individual departments, defines the educational policies and determines the content of the M.D. degree program. The Curriculum Committee is responsible for the design, implementation and evaluation of the entire undergraduate medical curriculum. This committee is chaired by School of Medicine’s associate dean for undergraduate medical education and is made up of faculty and students.

Curricular Affairs Staff


Chad S. Miller, M.D., FACP, SFHM
Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
314-977-8077
chad.miller@health.slu.edu 

James F. Duffy, S.J., M.D.
Associate Dean for Clinical Curriculum and Medical Director of the Clinical Skills Center
314-977-8087
james.f.duffy@health.slu.edu 

Lynda A. Morrison, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean, Pre-Clinical Curriculum
314-977-8874
lynda.morrison@health.slu.edu 

Debra Schindler, Ph.D.
Assistant dean, Evaluation and Assessment
314-977-8077
debra.schindler@health.slu.edu 
 
Tina Chen, M.D.
Assistant Dean, Simulation Center
314-977-8445
tina.chen@health.slu.edu

Wesley Burch
Education specialist, Simulation Center
314-977-8445
wesley.burch@health.slu.edu 

Luz Carriedo
Administrative Assistant
luz.carrideo@health.slu.edu  

Debbie Crisler
Year 2 Assistant
314-977-8074
deborah.crisler@health.slu.edu 

Therese Friederich
Year 1 Assistant
314-977-8073
therese.friederich@health.slu.edu 

Jennifer Greathouse
Coordinator, Academic Records
314-977-9812
jennifer.greathouse@health.slu.edu 

Linda Gwinn
Director, Curriculum Management
314-977-8034
linda.gwinn@health.slu.edu 

Jonia Jones
Assistant, Clinical Skills Center
314-977-8098
jonia.jones@health.slu.edu 

Denise Parker
Office Manager
314-977-8077
denise.parker@health.slu.edu 

Nanette Parris
Facilities Coordinator
314-977-8086
nanette.parris@health.slu.edu 

Denise Townsend
Program Director, Clinical Skills Center
314-977-8097
denise.townsend@health.slu.edu 

Neal Weber
Director of Instructional Design
314-977-8033
neal.weber@health.slu.edu