University Academic Calendar

Academic Year 2016-2017 2017-2018
Fall semester
Orientation/Fall Welcome (Wed.-Mon.) Aug. 17-22 Aug. 23-28
Convocation and Family Welcome (Thurs.) Aug. 18 Aug. 25
Fall classes begin (Mon.) Aug. 22 Aug. 28
Mass of the Holy Spirit (No classes between 11 a.m. and noon) (Thurs.) Aug. 25 Aug. 31
Fall online registration closes Aug. 26  
Fall change of registration form required Sept. 2  
Last day to drop without a "W" Sept. 2  
Labor Day (Mon.) Sept. 5 Sept. 4
Official fall census (Thurs.) Sept. 15 Sept. 21
Fall mid-term exams (Mon.-Sat.) Oct. 10-15 Oct. 16-21
Fall Break Oct. 17-18 Oct. 23-24
Fall mid-term grades due by 5 p.m. (Tues.) Oct. 18 Oct. 24
Fall mid-term conferral date Oct. 21 Oct. 27
Make a Difference Day (Sat.) Oct. 22 Oct. 28
Last day to withdraw with a "W" Oct. 28  
Memorial Mass for the Deceased of the University Nov. 2 Nov. 2
Thanksgiving break (Wed.-Sat.) Nov. 23-26 Nov. 22-25
Fall classes end (Mon.) Dec. 5 Dec. 11
Fall study day (Tues.) Dec. 6 Dec. 12
Fall final exams (Wed.-Tues.) Dec. 7-13 Dec. 13-19
Mid-year Commencement Dec. 9 Dec. 15
Fall final grades due by 5 p.m. (Thurs.) Dec. 15 Dec. 21
Fall degree conferral (Sat.) Dec. 17 Dec. 23
Spring semester
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Mon.) Jan. 16 Jan. 15
Spring classes begin Jan. 17 Jan. 16
Spring online registration closes Jan. 20  
Spring change of registration form required Jan. 23  
Last day to drop without a W Jan. 27  
Official spring census Feb. 9 Feb. 8
Ash Wednesday (All classes in session) March 1 Feb. 14
Spring mid-term exams (Mon.-Sat) March 6-11 March 5-10
Spring break (Mon.-Sat.) March 13-18 March 12-17
Spring mid-term grades due by 5 p.m. (Tues.) March 14 March 13
Spring mid-term conferral date March 17  
Last day to withdraw with a W    
Easter break (No undergraduate day classes. All other classes will be held. Evening classes will be held after 5 p.m.) April 13-17  March 29-April 2
Spring classes end (Mon.) May 8 May 7
Spring study day (Tues.) May 9 May 8
Spring final exams (Wed-Tues.) May 10-16 May 9-15
Spring final grades due by 5 p.m. (Thurs.) May 18 May 17
Spring Commencement (Sat.) May 20 May 19
Spring degree conferral (Sat.) May 20 May 19
Summer semester
Intersession classes begin; first six-week session classes begin (Mon.) May 22 May 21
Memorial Day (Mon.) May 29 May 28
Eight-week session classes begin (Mon.)  June 5 June 4
Intersession classes end (Sat)
June 10 June 9
Intersession final grades due by 5 p.m. (Tues.) June 13 June 12
Summer degree conferral No. 1 (Wed.) June 14 June 13
First six-week session classes end (Sat.) July 1 June 30
Second six-week session classes begin
July 3 July 2
First six-week session final grade due by 5 p.m. (Tues.) July 5 July 3
Summer degree conferral No. 2 (Wed.) July 5 July 5
Fourth of July July 4 July 4
Eight-week session classes end (Sat.) July 29 July 28
Eight-week session final grade due by 5 p.m. (Tues.) Aug. 1 July 31
Summer degree conferral No. 3 (Wed.) Aug. 2 Aug. 1
Second six-week session classes end (Sat.) Aug. 12 Aug. 11
Second six-week session final grade due by 5 p.m. (Tues.) Aug. 15 Aug. 14
Summer degree conferral No. 4 (Wed.) Aug. 16 Aug. 15

 Printable versions of the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 academic calendars are available for download.