Saint Louis University Menu Search

'High Tea at the Museum' Honors Five SLU Women Leaders

Saint Louis University honored five women leaders Tuesday, Oct. 4, at its second annual High Tea at the Museum, an event that benefits the Women’s Leadership Society of the United Way of Greater St. Louis and acknowledges outstanding female leadership at SLU.

United Way High Tea honorees


SLU senior Taylor Jackson; Alyce Lanxon, the executive director of the Practice Management Operations at SLUCare; law professor Susan McGraugh, J.D.; School of Nursing Dean Teri Murray, Ph.D., and Interim Dean of the School of Education, Ann Rule, Ph.D., received the honor. They represented students, faculty, staff and administrators from across the campus. Each was honored for her commitment to encouraging other women in their professional aspirations.

The University chose Jackson, for her work with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri and the Center for Women in Transition. Jackson is majoring in Sociology and Women’s and Gender Studies, with minors in Political Science and Urban Poverty Studies.  

From the Medical Center, the University honored Alyce Lanxon, the executive director of the Practice Management Operations at SLUCare, for her efforts with the Parent Teacher Organization for Exceptional Children and her coaching of softball and volleyball for girls with development disabilities.

Terri Murray, dean of the SLU School of Nursing, received the honor for her work on the National Advisory Council for Nurse Education and Practice, which advising U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and Congress on nursing workforce policy issues.  Locally, Murray is involved in the Nurses for Newborns home visitation program.
From the School of Law, Susan McGraugh, clinical professor of law, was acknowledged for her work directing the a pro-bono criminal defense legal clinic, which serves people with mental illness and intellectual disabilities involved with the criminal justice system. The award is also in acknowledgment of the partnerships McGraugh has formed with Places for People, the St. Patrick Center, St. Martha’s Hall, Legal Advocated for Abused Women, and other national and international legal programs.

In her final year as interim dean of the School of Education, Ann Rule received recognition her role organizations that promote and impact women’s education, including the Professional Development School Collaborative, Greenhouse Venture, Belize 2020, Billiken Teacher Corps, Cyprus Graduate Programs, and President’s Research Fund at Marian Middle School in St. Louis.
About the Women’s Leadership Society of the United Way:
Founded in 1996, the Women’s Leadership Society has more than 3,600 members who collectively contribute in excess of $7 million to passionately and intentionally affect positive change in the St. Louis community.