Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

School of Education Honors Outstanding Students


Kacie Frost, Gilsinan Award recipient 

Every year, the Saint Louis University School of Education is pleased to recognize outstanding graduate and undergraduate students through numerous student awards. This year, the SOE recognized these students during the virtual pre-commencement ceremony that was held in May.

During the ceremony, award recipients were announced for the Gilsinan Award, the Hangartner Award, and the J.J. O’Brien Award. The School of Education is honored to bestow these awards to recognize students’ passion, leadership, and commitment to the field of education.

The Gilsinan Award, named in honor of Dr. James F. Gilsinan—the first Dean of the College of Public Service from 1998 to 2006—is given to a graduating senior who best exemplifies the vision and mission of the SOE. This year, two students were honored with this award: Kacie Frost and Hannah Mueller.

Kaylea Chappelle, Hangartner Award recipient 

Frost’s nominators emphasized her dedication to her students and to SLU, stating that she always went the extra mile with her passion for teaching. Mueller’s nominators stated that her commitment to “the well-being of others is reflected in her willingness to share her time in humanitarian projects,” and they added that she is a quiet leader among her peers. The School of Education is proud to name Kacie and Hannah the recipients of the Gilsinan Award for their commitment to “educating, guiding, and transforming individuals and communities through teaching, research, and community engagement,” exemplifying the SOE’s vision.

The Hangartner Award is given in memory of Carl A. Hangartner, S.J., whose career as a SLU professor of education was a tribute to the highest standards of scholarship and integrity. The award, therefore, is based on scholarship, leadership, and service, and is bestowed upon an undergraduate student who best exemplifies the ideas for which Hangartner stood.

Sarah Wendel, J.J. O'Brien Award recipient

This year’s recipient is Kaylea Chappelle. Her nominators stated that “her 6 a.m. dedication paid off on the field and off,” and added that she is a “wonderful student, leader, and role model.”

The SOE recognizes accomplishments at the graduate level through the J.J. O’Brien Award for Outstanding Graduate Student. This award, given in honor of Dr. John J. “J.J.” O’Brien who taught for 46 years at SLU, recognizes graduate students whose actions exemplify the ideals set forth in the SOE’s mission. Both Sarah Wendel and Letrice Young were given this award for their outstanding work.

Letrice Young, J.J. O'Brien Award recipient

Wendel’s nominators stated that “she articulated insights into leadership and education with a wisdom far beyond her years. She was one of the quieter students in her cohort, but, like J.J., when she spoke, what she had to say impressed class members and she speaks with insight and meaning.”

Young’s nominators wrote that her doctoral project—which set out to create supplemental instruction for high school students in St. Clair County, Illinois, and resulted in a college readiness curriculum which addressed deficiencies in reading, grammar, and writing—“clearly articulates that through her caring, high touch approach to educating, guiding, and transforming individuals, she makes a difference in their lives and in the communities in which they learn, work, live, and serve.”

Congratulations to these outstanding School of Education students!