Skip to main content
Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

SLU-Madrid's Global Community Grows

by Isaiah Voss


With only 1,215 students, the Saint Louis University — Madrid Campus' Spring 2024 student body represents 32 U.S. states and 69 nationalities.

Nearly 300 degree-seeking students from the U.S. represent 32 states. These include Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin. American citizens also represent Puerto Rico.

About 14% of SLU-Madrid's four-year students are from Spain. Italy and Morocco's presence continues to grow on campus. Other common countries of origin include the Philippines, Saudi Arabia and Venezuela, in that order.

Students walk up and down stairs outdoors on the SLU Madrid campus.

Spring 2024 student body representing 32 U.S. states and 69 nationalities. Photo by  Ángel García.

Another 14% of students who call SLU-Madrid home come from these 25 countries: Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, India, Jordan, Lebanon, Mexico, Mozambique, Nigeria, Peru, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

One degree-seeking student is from one of the following 33 countries or territories: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, China, Cyprus, Egypt, Georgia, Gibraltar, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Mauritania, Montenegro, Myanmar, Norway, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Portugal, Qatar, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Students studying abroad for the spring term are from 30 U.S. universities, including SLU’s St. Louis campus. Non-U.S. visiting students hold passports from Bangladesh, Honduras, Ireland, Nepal and South Korea.