Skip to main content

Campaign for Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Accelerating Discovery

Investing in Health Sciences

With world-class assets, led by our globally acclaimed School of Medicine, SLU’s health sciences education features a unique depth and breadth. Our students learn by doing – whether in the classroom, during simulations, in labs or in clinical environments – while our Jesuit heritage ensures that they learn the importance of compassion in care.

But the pace of change these days is rapid. That’s particularly true in the health sciences, where new discoveries and advances in technology happen almost daily. As ever-evolving disciplines, education in these fields requires state-of-the-art technology and continually updated facilities.

It’s essential that SLU not only keep pace, but lead the way in expanding the boundaries of medical knowledge and application. Accelerating Excellence: The Campaign for Saint Louis University will allow SLU to invest in infrastructure and technology to accelerate discovery and enhance our ability to compete for external funding across all health sciences schools and research divisions.

Learn more about our focus on health sciences in the video below.

Campaign in Action: Health Sciences

imaging center

SLU will collaborate with Washington University in St. Louis on this innovative new partnership.

SLU School of Nursing

Five professors from the Trudy Busch Valentine School of Nursing have been named finalists for the 2020 Excellence in Nursing Awards.

William Newman, M.D.

William Newman, M.D., will lead the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, a prominent organization of psychiatrists dedicated to excellence in the field of forensic psychiatry, as the association’s new president.

Raymond Tait, Ph.D.

Long-time School of Medicine faculty member Raymond C. Tait, Ph.D., will receive one of the Academy of Science-St. Louis’ most prestigious recognitions.

research logo

 The Saint Louis University Research Institute has awarded more than $740,000 in grants in its second round of funding to accelerate research growth at SLU. Among the 13 selected. seven are focused on the health sciences.


Gina Yosten, Ph.D., associate professor of pharmacology and physiology at SLU, will become the most junior scientist ever chosen editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Physiology – Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology.