Skip to main content

Saint Louis University School of Medicine Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Section of Ambulatory Medicine

Our faculty members are leaders at the highest levels within SLUCare, the academic medical practice of Saint Louis University, as well as national leaders in medical ethics, medical education, hospital medicine and primary care.

In line with the Saint Louis University Jesuit mission of cura personalis, our faculty and nurse practitioners care for the whole person. In addition to primary care, we offer specialized clinics focused on our patients’ acute care needs and their transitions between hospital and home. Our team-based care approach allows us to create an individualized care plan for each patient while addressing the overarching needs of the populations we serve. We are also home to SLUCare Express, an urgent care clinic available to care for the needs of our Saint Louis University employee community.

Education is a central tenet of academic General Internal Medicine. With our SLU medical students, our faculty routinely precept and teach fourth-year medical students in faculty continuity clinics and acute care clinics. Our Internal Medicine residents, with the guidance and support of our GIM faculty physicians, provide cutting edge, evidence-based care to their patients in their Residency Continuity Clinic and Acute Care clinics.


Jennifer M. Schmidt, M.D., FACP
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Section Chief, Ambulatory General Internal Medicine
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Training Program
Medical Director, Quality and Safety

Anjan Bhattacharryaa
Integrated Internal Medicine-Psychiatry

Nancy Z. Delaney, M.D.
Student Health and Counseling Center

Robert Heaney, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Senior Associate Dean, School of Medicine
Assistant Vice President for Medical Affairs

Kyle E. Karches M.D., M.A.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Co-director, Ambulatory Internal Medicine Clerkship

Maureen D. Lyons, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Training Program
Director, Ambulatory Internal Medicine Clerkship

Marilyn Maxwell, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics

Thomas Olsen, M.D., MACP
Professor of Medicine
Medical Director, Student Health and Counseling Center

Nora L. Porter, M.D., MPH, FACP, FAAP
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
Co-Director, Internal Medicine Clerkship

Anne Walentik, DO, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics

Nurse Practitioners

Morgan Harris, FNP-C

Aryn Henry, AGPCNP-C

Felicia Isbell, ANP

Disha Miyani, AGNP-C

Marcella Petzchen, ANP

Elizabeth Walden, ANP 


Timothy Gaines
Administrative Assistant