Skip to main content

Saint Louis University School of Law Header Logo Center

Menu Search

Requirements & Deadlines

Semester in D.C. Requirements

Prerequisites

To be eligible, a student must meet all of the following conditions:

  • Cumulative GPA of 2.8 or better at all times, including at the time of application.
  • 54 or more credits completed towards J.D.
  • "C" or better in each of the following courses: Health Care Law, Administrative Law, and Legal Profession, prior to the start of the semester in D.C.
  • Pursuing a health law concentration, health law related dual degree, or health law LL.M.

 Application Requirements

  • Cover Letter(s)
  • Résumé
  • Unofficial Transcript
  • 5-Page Writing Sample
  • Completed Application Form

Download Application Form


 Student Responsibilities

  • Transportation to/from Washington, D.C.
  • Housing in Washington, D.C.
  • Living expenses in Washington, D.C.

Important Dates

Fall 2017

Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Information Session for Health Law Semester in Washington, D.C.
12-12:50 p.m.
Room 1166

Thursday, August 31, 2017
Information Session for Health Law Semester in Washington, D.C.
5-5:30 p.m.
Room 1166

Thursday, September 7, 2017
DUE: Letter of Intent to Apply for Health Law Semester in D.C.
Due to Amy Sanders by 5 p.m.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
DUE: Completed Application for Health Law Semester in D.C.
Due to Amy Sanders by noon

Thursday, October 12, 2017
Externship Placements Confirmed with Students by this Date

Thursday, October 26, 2017
Regalia Days for Semester in D.C. students graduating May 2018

Friday, November 10, 2017
Know Before You Go Meeting
12-12:50 p.m.

Spring 2018

Monday, January 8, 2018
Begin Work at Placement in Washington, D.C.

Wednesday, February 21 – Friday, February 23, 2018
Mid-Semester Site Visits

March 12-16, 2018
No Spring Break; Continue Work at Placement in Washington, D.C.

Friday, April 13, 2018
Last Day in Placement – Spring 2018 Semester in D.C. Ends