Skip to main content
Menu Search & Directory
Close

Student Organizations

Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

Saint Louis University School of Medicine students are strongly encouraged to develop leadership skills through the Student National Medical Association.

The SNMA is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students and addressing the needs of underserved communities. Our goal is to increase the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians. The mission of the Saint Louis University Chapter is to provide advocacy, community service, celebrate diversity and increase the pipeline of underrepresented minority students who consider and prepare for medical and scientific careers.

Connect with Saint Louis University School of Medicine's SNMA Chapter

Chapter Co-lead

Maya Hines
First-year Medical Student 
maya.hines@health.slu.edu

Chapter Co-lead

April Lewis
First-year Medical Student 
april.lewis@health.slu.edu

Secretary

Tyric Goode
First-year Medical Student 
tyric.goode@health.slu.edu

Treasurer

Nanthan Ramos
First-year Medical Student 
nathan.ramos@health.slu.edu
 

Academic Chair

Aisha Hassan
Second-year Medical Student
aishat.hassan@health@slu.edu
 

Community Outreach

Ritika Jain
First-year Medical Student

ritika.jain.1@health.slu.edu 

MAPS

Katelyn Williams
First-year Medical Student 
katelyn.williams@health.slu.edu

Public Relations Director

Kristen Woody
Third-year Medical Student

kristen.woody@health.slu.edu

SNMA/MSG Liaison

Derian Taylor
Third-year Medical Student

derian.taylor@health.slu.edu

Wellness Chair

Courtney Cosby
Third-year Medical Student
courtney.cosby@health.slu.edu
 

 

SLU SNMA Committees

Academic Excellence Committee

The Academic Excellence committee plans initiatives to support SLU-SNMA in their academic efforts to improve retention. Including but not limited to practice question sessions with specialists and STEP planning.
Aisha Hassan, Academic Chair
aishat.hassan@health.slu.edu

Community Outreach Committee

The Community Outreach Committee plans and executes community service initiatives that SLU-SNMA can participate in within and outside of the SLUSOM network. Including but not limited to fundraising, high school pipelines, and blood pressure screenings.
Ritika Jain, Community Outreach Chair
ritika.jain.1@health.slu.edu

Curriculum Committee

The curriculum committee exists so that that URMs at SLU have the resources and support necessary to thrive while matriculating through the SLUSOM.
Derian Taylor, Curriculum Chair 
derian.taylor@health.slu.edu

Recruitment Committee

The recruitment committee works to ensure URM students are enrolling at SLUSOM.
Derian Taylor, Recruitment Chair 
derian.taylor@health.slu.edu

 

 

 

Wellness Committee

The Wellness Committee plans activities and initiatives that promote a healthy lifestyle and social balance for SLU-SNMA members.
Courtney Cosby, Wellness Chair
courtney.cosby@health.slu.edu

 

 

Faculty and Staff Sponsors

Javonda Quinn, M.A.
Program Director, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 
javonda.quinn@health.slu.edu

Denise Hooks-Anderson, M.D.
Interim Assistant Dean, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
denise.hooksanderson@health.slu.edu

Contact the Saint Louis University School of Medicine SNMA chapter at slusnma@gmail.com.To check out upcoming events or learn how to become a member,  visit the official SLUSOM SNMA chapter website. You can also connect with SLUSNMA on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. For more information on Student National Medical Association, visit snma.org.

Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)

The Latino Medical Student Association at the Saint Louis University School of Medicine, founded in spring of 2017, unites and empowers medical students through service, mentorship and education to advocate for the health of the Latino community. Its vision is: Unifying Medical Students to promote Latino health. Its objectives include efforts to:

  • Unify all Latino medical students into one organization
  • Provide a voice for underrepresented medical students
  • Actively promote recruitment and retention of Latino students at all levels
  • Educate medical students on Latino health issues
  • Advocate for the rights of Latinos in health care
  • Provide leadership opportunities for Latinos
  • Promote volunteerism in the Latino community

The LMSA at SLU School of Medicine provides monthly health screenings and opportunities to participate in national and regional conferences.

Connect with Saint Louis University School of Medicine's LMSA Chapter

Chapter Co-leads

Yanira Reynaga
First-year Medical Student 
yanira.reynaga@health.slu.edu

Bret Chavarria
First-year Medical Student 

bret.chavarria@health.slu.edu 

Education Chair
Alesandra Espinoza
First-year Medical Student

alesandra.espinoza@health.slu.edu

Mentorship Chair
Armando Del Valle
First-year Medical Student

armando.delvalle@health.slu.edu

 

Finance Chair

Jefferson Tyler
First-year Medical Student
jefferson.tyler@health.slu.edu

Social Chair

Zoe Henkes
First-year Medical Student
zoe.henkes@health.slu.edu

Community Engagement

Grace Garcia
First-year Medical Student
grace.garcia@health.slu.edu

Community Outreach

Bret Chavarria
First-year Medical Student
bret.chavarria@health.slu.edu

Faculty and Staff Sponsors

Javonda Quinn, M.A.
Program Director, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 
javonda.quinn@health.slu.edu

Yuna Ayala, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
yuna.ayala@health.slu.edu

Email slulmsa@gmail.com to be kept up to date on our events and to be added to our Latinx student groupme chat. Events are announced in the SLUSOM Weekly Mailer and through the email list.

You can also find the LMSA Midwest on Facebook and  LMSA SOM chapter on Instagram

Become a Latino Medical Student Association member. Sign up at the National Latino Medical Student Association website