Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Student Organizations

Saint Louis University School of Medicine and the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion strongly encourage SLU students to join student organizations and affinity groups. 

Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

The SNMA is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students and addressing the needs of underserved communities. We aim to increase the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent, socially conscious physicians. The mission of the SLU Chapter is to provide advocacy, community service, celebrate diversity and increase the pipeline of underrepresented minority students who consider and prepare for medical and scientific careers.

Connect With SLU's SNMA Chapter

Leadership

Chapter Co-President

Natalia Altson
First-year Medical Student 
natalia.alston@health.slu.edu

Chapter Co-President

Tyler Lackland
First-year Medical Student 
tyler.lackland@health.slu.edu 

Vice President

Ashley Jones
First-year Medical Student 
ashley.marie.jones@health.slu.edu 

Treasurer

Alejandro Ruiz
First-year Medical Student 
alejandro.ruiz@health.slu.edu

Academic Chair

Aaliyah Sevier and Ayanna Shambe
Second-year Medical Students
aaliyah.sevier@health@slu.edu 
ayanna.shambe@health.slu.edu 

Community Outreach

Aaliyah Sevier
First-year Medical Student
aaliyah.sevier@health.slu.edu

MAPS

Katelyn Williams
First-year Medical Student 
katelyn.williams@health.slu.edu

Mentorship Chair

Alexis Cole
Second-year Medical Student 
alexis.cole@health.slu.edu

Parliamentarian

Justin Anderson
First-year Medical Student
justin.anderson@health.slu.edu

Pipeline Chair

April Lewis
Third-year Medical Student
april.lewis@health.slu.edu

Public Relations Director

Tyric Goode
Second-year Medical Student
tyric.goode@health.slu.edu

SNMA/MSG Liaison

Maya Hines
Third-year Medical Student
maya.hines@health.slu.edu

Wellness Chair

Leighton Hope
Second-year Medical Student
leighton.hope@health.slu.edu 

Committees

Academic Excellence Committee

The Academic Excellence Committee plans initiatives to support SLU-SNMA in their academic efforts to improve retention. Including but not limited to practice question sessions with specialists and STEP planning.
Aisha Hassan, Academic Chair
aisha.hassan@health.slu.edu 

Community Outreach Committee

The Community Outreach Committee plans and executes community service initiatives that SLU-SNMA can participate in within and outside of the SLUSOM network, including, but not limited to fundraising, high school pipelines and blood pressure screenings.
Aaliyah Sevier, Community Outreach Chair
aaliyah.sevier@health.slu.edu 

Curriculum Committee

The curriculum committee exists so that URMs at SLU have the resources and support necessary to thrive while matriculating through the SLUSOM.
Derian Taylor, Curriculum Chair 
derian.taylor@health.slu.edu

Recruitment Committee

The recruitment committee works to ensure URM students are enrolling at SLUSOM.
Derian Taylor, Recruitment Chair 
derian.taylor@health.slu.edu 

Wellness Committee

The Wellness Committee plans activities and initiatives that promote a healthy lifestyle and social balance for SLU-SNMA members.
Kendra Brown, Wellness Chair
kendra.brown@health.slu.edu 

Faculty and Staff Sponsors

Timothy Murrell, Ed.D.
Program Director, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 
timothy.murrell@health.slu.edu

Duane Moore, M.D.
Assistant Dean, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
duane.moore@health.slu.edu 

Contact the Saint Louis University School of Medicine SNMA chapter at slusnma@gmail.com. To check out upcoming events or learn how to become a member, visit the official SLUSOM SNMA chapter website. You can also connect with SLUSNMA on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)

The Latino Medical Student Association at the Saint Louis University School of Medicine, founded in the spring of 2017, unites and empowers medical students through service, mentorship, and education to advocate for the health of the Latino community. Its vision is: Unifying medical students to promote Latino health. Its objectives include efforts to:

  • Unify all Latino medical students into one organization
  • Provide a voice for underrepresented medical students
  • Actively promote recruitment and retention of Latino students at all levels
  • Educate medical students on Latino health issues
  • Advocate for the rights of Latinos in health care
  • Provide leadership opportunities for Latinos
  • Promote volunteerism in the Latino community

The LMSA at SLU School of Medicine provides monthly health screenings and opportunities to participate in national and regional conferences.

Connect with SLU's LMSA Chapter

Leadership

Chapter Co-leads

Jorge Silva Hidalgo
First-year Medical Student 
jorge.silvahidalgo@health.slu.edu 

Alejandro Ruiz
First-year Medical Student 
alejandro.ruiz@health.slu.edu  

Education Chair 

Kenya Medina
First-year Medical Student
kenya.medina@health.slu.edu 

Mentorship Chair

Madeline Valdes
Second-year Medical Student
madeline.valdes@health.slu.edu 

Faculty and Staff Sponsors

Timothy Murrell, Ed.D.
Program Director, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 
timothy.murrell@health.slu.edu 

Email slulmsa@gmail.com to be kept up to date on our events and to be added to our Latinx student GroupMe chat. Events are announced in the SLUSOM Weekly Mailer and through the email list.

You can also find the LMSA Midwest on Facebook and LMSA at the SLUSOM chapter on Instagram

Become a Latino Medical Student Association member. Sign up at the National Latino Medical Student Association website

If you would like more information on other available student organizations and affinity groups please email the office at SOMODEI@health.slu.edu and we would be happy to help you.