Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Student Organizations

Student National Medical Association (S.N.M.A.)

Saint Louis University School of Medicine students are strongly encouraged to develop leadership skills through the Student National Medical Association.

The S.N.M.A. is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students and addressing the needs of underserved communities. Our goal is to increase the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians. The mission of the Saint Louis University Chapter is to provide advocacy, community service, celebrate diversity and increase the pipeline of underrepresented minority students who consider and prepare for medical and scientific careers.

Connect with Saint Louis University School of Medicine's S.N.M.A. Chapter

Chapter Co-lead

Leighton Hope
First-year Medical Student 
leighton.hope@health.slu.edu

Chapter Co-lead

Ayanna Shambe
First-year Medical Student 
ayanna.shambe@health.slu.edu

Secretary

Tyric Goode
First-year Medical Student 
tyric.goode@health.slu.edu

Treasurer

Michael Rector
First-year Medical Student 
michael.rector@health.slu.edu
 

Academic Chair

Aisha Hassan
Third-year Medical Student
aishat.hassan@health@slu.edu
 

Community Outreach

Aaliyah Sevier
First-year Medical Student
 

MAPS

Katelyn Williams
First-year Medical Student 
katelyn.williams@health.slu.edu

Mentorship Chair

Kaylah Pinkney
First-year Medical Student 
 

Parliamentarian

Justin Anderson
First-year Medical Student

justin.anderson@health.slu.edu

Pipeline Chair

April Lewis
Second-year Medical Student

april.lewis@health.slu.edu

Public Relations Director

Alexis Cole
Third-year Medical Student

alexis.cole@health.slu.edu

SNMA/MSG Liaison

Christina Wesley
Third-year Medical Student

christiana.wesley@health.slu.edu

Wellness Chair

Kendra Brown
Third-year Medical Student
kendra.a.brown@health.slu.edu
 

SLU SNMA Committees

Academic Excellence Committee

The Academic Excellence committee plans initiatives to support SLU-SNMA in their academic efforts to improve retention. Including but not limited to practice question sessions with specialists and STEP planning.
Aisha Hassan, Academic Chair
aisha.hassan@health.slu.edu

Community Outreach Committee

The Community Outreach Committee plans and executes community service initiatives that SLU-SNMA can participate in within and outside of the SLUSOM network. Including but not limited to fundraising, high school pipelines, and blood pressure screenings.
Aaliyah Sevier, Community Outreach Chair
aaliyah.sevier@health.slu.edu

Curriculum Committee

The curriculum committee exists so that that URMs at SLU have the resources and support necessary to thrive while matriculating through the SLUSOM.
Derian Taylor, Curriculum Chair 
derian.taylor@health.slu.edu

Recruitment Committee

The recruitment committee works to ensure URM students are enrolling at SLUSOM.
Derian Taylor, Recruitment Chair 
derian.taylor@health.slu.edu

Wellness Committee

The Wellness Committee plans activities and initiatives that promote a healthy lifestyle and social balance for SLU-SNMA members.
Kendra Brown, Wellness Chair
kendra.brown@health.slu.edu

 

Faculty and Staff Sponsors

Valerie Lovelock
Program Director, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 
valerie.lovelock@health.slu.edu

Denise Hooks-Anderson, M.D.
Interim Assistant Dean, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
denise.hooksanderson@health.slu.edu

Contact the Saint Louis University School of Medicine SNMA chapter at slusnma@gmail.comTo check out upcoming events or learn how to become a member,  visit the official SLUSOM SNMA chapter website. You can also connect with SLUSNMA on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)

The Latino Medical Student Association at the Saint Louis University School of Medicine, founded in spring of 2017, unites and empowers medical students through service, mentorship and education to advocate for the health of the Latino community. Its vision is: Unifying Medical Students to promote Latino health. Its objectives include efforts to:

  • Unify all Latino medical students into one organization
  • Provide a voice for underrepresented medical students
  • Actively promote recruitment and retention of Latino students at all levels
  • Educate medical students on Latino health issues
  • Advocate for the rights of Latinos in health care
  • Provide leadership opportunities for Latinos
  • Promote volunteerism in the Latino community

The LMSA at SLU School of Medicine provides monthly health screenings and opportunities to participate in national and regional conferences.

Connect with Saint Louis University School of Medicine's LMSA Chapter

Chapter Co-leads

Jennifer S. Villa
First-year Medical Student 
jennifer.s.villa@health.slu.edu

Caroline Wright
First-year Medical Student 

caroline.c.wright@health.slu.edu 

Education Chair

James Cuellar
First-year Medical Student

james.cuellar@health.slu.edu

Mentorship Chair

Madeline Valdes
First-year Medical Student

madeline.valdes@health.slu.edu

Finance Chair

Arnulfo Ahumada
First-year Medical Student
arnulfo.ahumada@health.slu.edu

Social Chairs

Jennifer S. Villa and Caroline Wright
First-year Medical Students

caroline.c.wright@health.slu.edu

Community Outreach and Engagement

Steven Castillo
First-year Medical Student
steven.castillo@health.slu.edu

Faculty and Staff Sponsors

Valerie Lovelock
Program Director, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 
valerie.lovelock@health.slu.edu

Yuna Ayala, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
yuna.ayala@health.slu.edu

Email slulmsa@gmail.com to be kept up to date on our events and to be added to our Latinx student GroupMe chat. Events are announced in the SLUSOM Weekly Mailer and through the email list.

You can also find the LMSA Midwest on Facebook and  LMSA SOM chapter on Instagram

Become a Latino Medical Student Association member. Sign up at the National Latino Medical Student Association website