Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

The Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology has state-of-the-art laboratories located in a research and teaching complex together with other basic science departments in the Saint Louis University School of Medicine.

A Letter from the Chair

Welcome to the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology (MMI). We are a collaborative, innovative, inclusive and dynamic department.

Our mission includes:

  1. Providing outstanding training opportunities for graduate and medical students and post-doctoral fellows.
  2. Advancing scientific knowledge through research and scholarly activity
  3. Developing new strategies to improve human health.

Our faculty, students and postdoctoral fellows carry out research in different areas, including immunology, autoimmunity, cancer immunotherapies, infectious diseases and vaccine development. We take pride in teaching our trainees critical thinking skills and providing them with critical tools and opportunities to ensure success. Our students and postdoctoral fellows secure prominent positions in academia, biotech and pharmaceutical companies after completing their research training at SLU.

We are a multidisciplinary department that uses cutting edge techniques and technologies and we have an excellent success record in securing research funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense, private foundations and the private sector. The department benefits from a highly collaborative environment and outstanding core research facilities at the Medical School as well as the wider University.

MMI is the home of several core facilities, including: flow cytometry core, Biosafety Level 3 Laboratories (BSL3), Animal Biosafety Level 3 facilities (ABLS3), animal imaging core, and biological irradiator core. We also offer access to membership in other exciting collaborative centers including the Institute for Drug and Biotherapeutic Innovation, and the Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences. Members of the department benefit from inclusion in the Siteman Cancer Center and have access to the nationally acclaimed Cortex Innovation Community, as well as to multiple local startup-supporting institutions that are part of the fast-growing, cutting-edge medical and biotechnology community operating actively throughout the St. Louis region.

Thank you for visiting our website and I invite you to explore our department and learn more about our faculty, students, and research programs. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have.

Headshot of Richard DiPaolo

Richard DiPaolo, Ph.D.

Interim Chairman

MMI Seminars Doisy Research Center

Date (2022-2023) Speaker Institution  Host
Sept. 8, 2022          3:00 p.m. Terry Hermiston Coagulant Therapeutics & GLAdiator Biosciences Rich DiPaolo
Sept. 15, 2022 Kyle McCommis SLU - Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Rich DiPaolo
Sept. 22, 2022 Elise Alspach SLU - Molecular Microbiology & Immunology Ryan Teague
Sept. 29, 2022 Victor Tse SLU - Molecular Microbiology & Immunology Rich DiPaolo
Oct. 6, 2022 Rafael Czepielewski Washington University Ryan Teague
Oct. 20, 2022 Krishan Pandey SLU - Molecular Microbiology & Immunology MMI
Oct. 27, 2022 Jesse Williams University of Minnesota Elise Alspach
Nov. 3, 2022 Stephen Ferris SLU - Molecular Microbiology & Immunology Rich DiPaolo
Nov. 10, 2022 Melissa Berrien Washington University Ryan Teague
Nov. 17, 2022 Ryan Teague SLU - Molecular Microbiology & Immunology Rich DiPaolo
Dec. 1, 2022 Daniel Hawiger SLU - Molecular Microbiology & Immunology Rich DiPaolo
Dec. 8, 2022 Sarah George SLU - Infectious Diseases, Allergy & Immunology MMI
Dec. 15, 2022 Jim Ray MD Anderson Institute for Drug & Therapeutic Innovation
Jan. 12, 2023 Brian Edelson Washington University Rich DiPaolo
Feb. 23, 2023 Daisy Leung Washington University James Brien
Mar. 9, 2023 Justin Lathia Cleveland Clinic / Case Western Elise Alspach

All seminars will be presented at 11 a.m., unless otherwise noted.