Skip to main content

Saint Louis University School of Medicine Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Department of Neurological Surgery

The Department of Neurological Surgery at Saint Louis University is devoted to the advancement of neurosurgical care, research and education. Pioneering work and innovations on neurosurgical technologies and neurosurgical operative techniques have been a hallmark of this department.

SSM Health Saint Louis University Hospital is equipped with some of the most advanced technologies (including intraoperative MRI and MEG technologies) in order to provide the highest level of care for our patients. Patients will find personalized care provided by multidisciplinary teams dedicated to specific neurosurgical diseases in this world-class neurosurgical department.


Saleem I. Abdulrauf, M.D., FAANS, FACS
Department Chairman
Director, Saint Louis University Center for Cerebrovascular and Skull Base Surgery Neurosurgeon-in-Chief, SSM Health Saint Louis University Hospital
President, Walter E. Dandy Neurosurgical Society
Chairman, Neurosurgical Anatomy Committee of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies

Richard D. Bucholz, M.D. FACS
Department Vice Chairman
K. R.  Smith Endowed Chair in Neurosurgery
Director, Jean H. Bakewell Section of Image Guided Surgery

Jeroen Coppens, M.D.
Associate Professor
Center for Cerebrovascular and Skull Base Surgery

Joanna Kemp, M.D. 
Assistant Professor

Philippe Mercier M.D., Ph.D., FRCSC
Assistant Professor

Tobias Mattei, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Chief of Spine Surgery