Skip to main content
Menu Search & Directory

Graduate Students

Learn more about the current graduate students in the Department of English at Saint Louis University. 

Lindsay Adams

Email: lindsay.adams@slu.edu 


Bram Cleaver

Email: bram.cleaver@slu.edu 


placeholder

Haris Fazlic

Email: haris.fazlic@slu.edu

B.A. in English from the University of Missouri, M.A. in English from Tulane University

Area of Study: Romanticism/Romantic Studies

Areas of Interest: Pastoral Poetry, John Clare Studies, Object Theory, Transcendental Philosophy


Laura Hardin Marshall

Email: laura.hardinmarshall@slu.edu

B.A. in English from the University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg, MO); M.S. in English from the University of Oxford (Oxford, England)

Area of Study: Rhetoric and Composition

Areas of Interest: Responding to students and their writing, revision, writing centers, faculty development, and writing studies/program administration

Personal Website


Christina Hildebrandt

Email: christina.hildebrandt@slu.edu


Carol Hogan-Downey

Email: carolyn.hogan@slu.edu 


Matt Holder

Email: matthew.holder@slu.edu

B.A. in History from MTSU; M.A. in English from SLU

Area of Study: 20th-21st Century American Literature

Areas of Interest: Genre, Comics, Ecocriticism, Form, Violence


Natalie Monzyk

Email: natalie.monzyk@slu.edu 


placeholder

Carrie Nelson

Email: carrie.nelson@slu.edu

B.A. in English from the University of South Florida (concentration in creative writing); M.A. in English in Early Modern English Literature: Text and Transmission from King's College London

Area of Study: Early Modern English Literature

Areas of Interest: Utopias, spatial theory, networks, and deviance

Personal Website


placeholder

Johaeng Rho

Email: jo.rho@slu.edu

M.A. in English from Pusan National University, South Korea; M.A. in English from University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Area of Study: Early Modern Literature

Areas of Interest: Early modern english drama, Shakespeare, performance studies, cultural studies


Blanca Santonja-Gonzalez

Email: blanca.santonjagonzalez@slu.edu 


placeholder

Lauren Terbrock-Elmestad

Email: lauren.terbrockelmestad@slu.edu

B.A. in English and Education from Lindenwood University; M.A. in English from University of Missouri-St. Louis

Area of Study: Rhetoric and Composition

Areas of Interest: Rhetoric of Health and Medicine, Medical Humanities, Disability Studies, Gender Studies, Posthumanism


Natalie Whitaker

Email: natalie.whitaker@slu.edu 


Colten R. Biro

Email: colten.biro@slu.edu

Bachelor of Science in English & Political Science from Spring Hill College; Graduate Philosophy & Letters Degree from Saint Louis University; Master of Arts in English from Saint Louis University

Area of Study: Nineteenth Century British Literature & Culture

Areas of Interest: Golden Age Children's Literature; Medical Humanities; Digital Humanities & Archives; Studies of Empire and Colonialism; Intellectual & Philosophical Histories in Literature & Poetry

Personal Website


placeholder

Lexie Broemmer

Email: alexa.broemmer@slu.edu

B.A. in English from Quincy University, M.A. in English from St. Louis University 

Area of Study: 19th-20th Century American Literature 

Areas of Interest: Women's and Gender Studies, Horror, Ecocriticism


Sarah Burt

Email: sarah.burt@slu.edu 


placeholder

Salvatore DiBono

Email: salvatore.dibono@slu.edu

B.A. in English from CUNY Hunter College 2019; M.A. from Seton Hall University 2021

Area of Study: 19th-20th Century American Literature

Areas of Interest: Horror, the Gothic, Gender and sexuality studies, and Critical Race Theory  


placeholder

Kathleen (Katie) Eck

Email: kathleen.eck@slu.edu

B.A. in English and Secondary Education from Dominican University; M.A. in English from Saint Louis University

Area of Study: 19th Century British Literature

Areas of Interest: Disability Studies, Women's and Gender Studies, and Teaching Pedagogy


placeholder

Nicholas Gomez

Email: nicholas.gomez@slu.edu

B.A. in English & American Literature from UTEP; M.A. in English from Saint Louis University

Area of Study: Rhetoric and Composition

Areas of Interest: Philosophy and Rhetoric, Ancient Rhetoric, Pedagogy, Classical Studies, Composition Studies


placeholder

J. Myles Hesse

Email: john.hesse@slu.edu 

B.S. in English and Theatre from Indiana State University; M.A. in Theatre and Performance Studies from Washington University in St. Louis

Area of Study: Transatlantic Modernisms

Areas of Interest: Spiritual Queerness, Dramatic Literature, Queer Gothic

Personal Website


Adriana Hutchinson

Email: adriana.duebel@slu.edu 


TJ Keeley

Email: tj.keeley@slu.edu 


Sharee Langenstein

Email: sharee.langenstein@slu.edu 


placeholder

Sydney Rice Lindsey

Email: sydney.rice@slu.edu

B.A. in English Education from Murray State University, M.A. in English from Saint Louis University

Area of Study: Contemporary Literature and Film

Areas of Interest: Women and Gender Studies, Horror and the Gothic


placeholder

Ryan Prewitt

Email: ryan.prewitt@slu.edu

M.A. in English from Saint Louis University

Area of Study: 20th Century and Contemporary American Literature

Areas of Interest: Digital Literature, Literary Countercultures, Politics and Aesthetics, Digital Rhetoric


placeholder

Rachel Linn Shields

Email: rachel.l.shields@slu.edu

B.A. in English from the University of Washington (Seattle, WA), M.A. interdisciplinary studies with a literature focus from New York University (New York, NY), and M.F.A. in creative writing with a fiction focus from the University of Washington (Seattle, WA)

Area of Study: Medieval Literature

Areas of Interest: Ecocriticism, poetics, creative writing, history of the book

Personal Website


Collin Stansberry

Email: collin.stansberry@slu.edu


Savanah Warners

Email: savanah.warners@slu.edu 


Molly Baker

Email: charlotte.baker@slu.edu 


Craig Boyd

Email: craig.boyd@slu.edu 


placeholder

Katie Gearin

Email: katherine.gearin@slu.edu 

A.A. in Arts from St. Charles Community College; B.A in English from Maryville University

Area of Study: The Long 19th Century

Areas of Interest: Romanticism; Victorian Literature; Feminist Studies


placeholder

Abram Gregory

Email: abram.gregory@slu.edu

B.A. in Philosophy and English from Vassar College

Area of Study: Philosophy and Medieval Studies

Areas of Interest: German idealism, fantasy literature, and physical education writing


placeholder

Meha Gupta


Email: meha.gupta@slu.edu

B.A. in English from Central University of Karnataka, India

Area of Study: Postcolonial Literatures

Areas of Interest: Postcolonial and Decolonial Studies, Poetry and Poetics

Personal Website


placeholder

Claire Jennings

Email: claire.jennings@slu.edu

B.A. in English Literature and Writing from McKendree University 

Area of Study: English

Areas of Interest: Gothic Literature, 19th Century British Literature


placeholder

Annette Killian

Email: annette.kilian@slu.edu

B.A. in English (Writing Concentration); B.A. in Psychology from Rockhurst University

Area of Study: Rhetoric and Composition

Areas of Interest: N/A


placeholder

Griffin Victoria Reed

Email: griffin.reed@slu.edu

B.A. in Comparative Literature from Washington University in St. Louis

Area of Study: 20th Century/Contemporary Literature

Areas of Interest: 20th century French and Anglophone literature and film, narratives of sexuality and sexual harm, aesthetics and politics, creative writing


Simone Sparks

Email: simone.sparks@slu.edu 


placeholder

Andrew Sweeso

Email: andrew.sweeso@slu.edu

B.A. in English from Saint Louis University

Area of Study: Rhetoric and Composition

Areas of Interest: Community-engaged pedagogy, writing center pedagogy, Religious rhetoric and social media