Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Awards, Fellowships and Scholarships

Saint Louis University's program in international studies aims to recognize and reward individuals promoting globalization across SLU’s campus through awards, fellowships and scholarships.

Fleming Fellowship

A former SLU faculty member, Jesuit Provincial, author, translator and longtime editor of Review for Religious, David Fleming, S.J. was an internationally recognized scholar and spiritual director who traveled and collaborated with colleagues all around the world, promoting the global mission of the University and the Society of Jesus. Fleming's legacy is one of global scholarship activity, and he was, in the words of one of his fellow Jesuits, "a giant."

The Fleming Fellowship was established to bring outstanding international scholars to SLU's campus to promote the University's Jesuit mission and the globalization of our campuses.

Grueber Awards for Campus Globalization

The Grueber Awards recognize members of the SLU community who share in the innovative and daring spirit by advancing the international and global mission of Johann Grueber, an early Jesuit of Saint Louis University.

Students and faculty are eligible for the awards. Recipients are considered based on their commitment to the study of globalization.

Past Recipients of the Grueber Awards

Sam Shreve, Rosemary Bornstein, Lori Turner Corzine, Dr. Ajlina Karamehic-Muratovic were the 2017 recipients of the Grueber Awards.

Past Recipients

  • 2016: Annie Smart, Ph.D., Patrick McCarthy, Ph.D., Patrick Schrauth, Barb Rajski, Emily Haas
  • 2015: Gerardo Camilo, Ph.D., David Fleming, S.J., Caitlin Johnson, Tim Wilhelm
  • 2014: Bert Barry, Ph.D., Julia Brucks, Carolina Aznar, Ph.D., Sara Rahim
  • 2013: Michael Barber, S.J., Thomas Finan, Ph.D., Matt Jones, Meiqing July He
  • 2012: Jane Beckerle, Richard Colignon, Ph.D., Timothy Troung
  • 2011: Beth Fluhr, Kathleen Llewellyn, Ph.D., Ben Stephan, Mary Wolf
  • 2010: Joe Adorjan, Anelga Doumanian, Ruben Rosario, Ph.D., Eleonore Stump, Ph.D.