Skip to main content

Saint Louis University College of Arts and Sciences Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Department of Theological Studies

The Saint Louis University Department of Theological Studies is a community of scholars dedicated to the study of theology in the Catholic, Jesuit tradition.

The department furthers SLU's mission through research and teaching on a variety of religions across the globe, and especially on the biblical, historical, systematic, ethical and spiritual dimensions of the Catholic tradition.

We are open to sharing and learning with people of all faiths and none in the pursuit of truth for the greater glory of God and the service of humanity.

Theology Degrees at SLU

Required Courses in Theology

Most undergraduate students at Saint Louis University are required to take theology.

The first course, THEO 1000: Theological Foundations, introduces students to the God of revelation within the Judeo-Christian tradition. They examine faith and its implications for living a human life, respecting creation and pursuing beauty and truth. This is done within an ecumenical and global context, examining other world religions and various social realities.

Subsequent courses focus more on specific aspects of Christian or other religious traditions and address the important social and moral issues of our day. 

Mev Puleo Scholarship

The Mev Puleo scholarship program includes an immersion trip to Costa Rica in summer of 2019. Applications are now open.