Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Awards and Recognition

Headshot of Daniel Pike

Congratulations to Daniel Pike, M.D., Ph.D., in Dr. Ford's lab on receiving the Wendell H. Griffith Award in Biochemistry. 

The award is presented each year to a graduating medical student who has shown excellence in biochemistry and a continuing interest in the application of biochemistry to medicine. 


Valerio and Hoft on balcony

Valerio Rasi is the first prize winner of the Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition, doctorate level. Valerio is an M.D./Ph.D. student, who is completing his Ph.D. in molecular microbiology and immunology in the laboratory of  Daniel Hoft, Ph.D., and he is scheduled to defend his thesis April 29.

The 3MT competition was started at the University of Queensland, Australia, and allows graduate students to compete with a video that summarizes their graduate work in three minutes on one slide. Valerio distinguished himself at this challenging endeavor and it will serve him well for his return to medical school to complete his M.D. degree.

Emily Cybulla with group on stairs

Emily Cybulla is a 5th year M.D./Ph.D. candidate in Alessandro Vindigni's lab, which recently relocated from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at SLU to the Division of Molecular Oncology at Washington University in St. Louis. Emily submitted her Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) application in December of 2019. This F30 application, titled "Targeting Rad18-dependent replication stress pathways to modulate chemoresponse in BRCA1-deficient cancers" was officially funded through the NIH's National Cancer Institute in July of 2020. Emily's F30 proposal combines research aimed at defining molecular mechanisms underlying chemoresponse in breast and ovarian cancers, collaboration and mentorship opportunities with physician scientists and cancer clinicians, and continued integration of her scientific interests in the DNA replication and repair fields with her clinical interests in medical oncology. The F30 fellowship will support Emily's remaining time in her graduate program and also her remaining clinical years in medical school.