Skip to main content
Menu Search & Directory


In 2017, the Saint Louis University Department of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery established the Mark A. Varvares Endowed Lectureship Fund (MAVEL) to honor his contributions to the specialty of otolaryngology. The fund supports the annual Mark A. Varvares Endowed Lecture and Harkins Graduation Weekend featuring a prominent otolaryngologist and resident scientific presentations.

Mark A. Varvares, M.D.
Mark A. Varvares, M.D.

Dr. Mark A. Varvares, native of St. Louis, Missouri, is a graduate of Saint Louis University School of Medicine, 1986. He completed residency training in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at The Massachusetts Eye and Ear, Harvard Medical School in 1991 and a fellowship in head and neck reconstructive surgery at Massachusetts Eye and Ear in 1992.

Varvares served as a member of SLU faculty and Harvard faculty until 2003 when he was named Department Chair at SLU and the first recipient of the Donald and Marlene Jerome Endowed Chair in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. While at SLU, he successfully established and developed the multidisciplinary head and neck oncology program and served as director of the SLU Cancer Center. Varvares is known for his exemplary teaching skills and strong mentorship of faculty, residents, medical students, and staff.

Past MAVEL Lecturers

2021 Stacey  T. Gray, M.D.
2019 Benjamin C. Marcus, M.D.
2018 Kathleen C.Y. Sie, M.D.
2017 Mark L. Urken, M.D
William B. Harkins, M.D. (1910-1987)
William B. Harkins, M.D. (1910-1987)

Dr. William B. Harkins was born in Macomb, Illinois and was a graduate of Johns Hopkins University School. He joined Saint Louis University School of Medicine in 1936. In 1969, he was named as the first full-time Chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology. When he retired in 1977, he was named Chairman and Professor Emeritus of the Department of Otolaryngology.

In 1991, the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery established the Harkins Lectureship Fund. From 1991 to 2016, the Harkins Fund supported scientific presentations from SLU otolaryngology residents and renowned experts in otolaryngology.

Past Harkins Lecturers

2016 Stefan K. Plontke, M.D.
2015 Stilianos E. Kountakis, M.D.
2014 Marion Couch, M.D.
2013 Andrew H. Murr, M.D.
2012 Daniel Alam, M.D.
2011 William B. Coman, M.D.
2010 James L. Netterville, M.D.
2009 James A. Stankiewicz, M.D.
2008 Mack Cheney, M.D.
2007 Richard J.H. Smith, M.D.
2006 Michael D. Maves, M.D.
2005 George L. Adams, M.D.
2004 Michael J. McKenna, M.D.
2003 Jesus E. Medina, M.D.
2002 Jeffrey M. Bumpous, M.D.
2001 James Y. Suen, M.D.
2000 Robert H. Ossoff, M.D.
1999 Robin T. Cotton, M.D.
1998 John W. House, M.D.
1997 Charles J. Krause, M.D.
1996 M. Eugene Tardy, M.D.
1995 Eugene N. Myers, M.D.
1994 David W. Kennedy, M.D.
1993 Michael E. Glasscock, III, M.D.
1992 Gerald Healey, M.D.
1991 Paul H. Ward, M.D.
1990 John J. Conley, M.D.