Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

African American Studies Faculty

Faculty in Saint Louis University's African American Studies Department draw expertise from a variety of academic disciplines at SLU, including the arts, English and communication, history, political science and psychology.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Cross-listed Courses Faculty

* Indicates member of African American Studies Advisory Committee

In Memoriam Faculty

  • Jonathan Smith, Ph.D.
    African American Studies and Vice President for Diversity and Innovative Community Engagement  


  • Institutional member of the National Council of Black Studies, Inc. (NCBS)
  • Institutional member of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH).

Ernest A. Calloway Teaching Award

Each year, the Society of African American Studies awards the Ernest A. Calloway Teaching Award to a University faculty member whose efforts in the classroom reflected Calloway's commitment to social justice, diversity and inclusion.

The award, named for a late Saint Louis University professor, was established by SLU alumnus Brian Shelton. The award is given annually during Sankofa, the African American graduate recognition ceremony held during pre-commencement activities.

Previous Calloway Award Winners

  • 2014: Jonathan Smith, Ph.D.
  • 2013: Karla Scott, Ph.D.
  • 2012: Stefan Bradley, Ph.D.

Karla Scott Award

The Karla Scott Award is for the graduating senior with the highest GPA among African American Studies majors. 

The 2019 winner of this award was Taylor R. Robinson.