Skip to main content
Menu Search & Directory

Political Science Faculty and Staff

Faculty and staff in Saint Louis University’s Department of Political Science have expertise across a broad range of topics.

Their areas of expertise include: the presidency, U.S. state and local politics, Asian politics, Middle East politics, international security and terrorism, polling, administrative law, democratization, revolution and ethnic conflict, political leadership, public policy, civil liberties, race and gender, feminist theory, disability theory, the history of political thought, post-communist systems, and African and Latin American development.

J. D. Bowen
Department chair

Wynne Walker Moskop, Ph.D.
Coordinator of graduate studies

Steven Rogers, Ph.D.
Coordinator of undergraduate studies

Nori Katagiri, Ph.D.
Coordinator of the international studies program

Robert Cropf, Ph.D., and Ness Sandoval, Ph.D.
Co-directors of the Ph.D. in public and social policy

Political Science Faculty 

J. D. Bowen, Ph.D.
Latin American Politics, political economy of development, race and ethnicity, U.S. foreign policy

Ellen Carnaghan, Ph.D.
Russian and post-Soviet politics, opposition in autocratic regimes, mass politics and political change

Sarah Cate, Ph.D.
American political development; race, class, and criminal justice; American social movements

Robert Cropf, Ph.D.
Public administration, e-government, public budgeting

Christopher M. Duncan, Ph.D.
Religion and politics, American political thought

Ali Fisunoglu, Ph.D.
International political economy, political science research methods, international organization and the management of world problems

Ruth Groff, Ph.D.
History of Western social and political thought and critical theory

Morgan Hazelton, J.D., Ph.D.
American and judicial politics

Nori Katagiri, Ph.D.
Asian politics, international relations, security policy

William McCormick, S.J., Ph.D.
Religion and politics, Catholic social thought, political thought

Wynne Moskop, Ph.D.
American political thought, Aristotle, leadership, feminist theory

Matthew Nanes, Ph.D.
Middle East politics, post-conflict policing

Steven Rogers, Ph.D.
American political institutions, electoral politics

Emmanuel Uwalaka, Ph.D.
African politics, international law, comparative and international politics

Kenneth Warren, Ph.D.
Administrative law, electoral politics and polling, American politics

Professors Emeriti

  • Eloise Buker, Ph.D.
  • James Gilsinan, Ph.D.
  • Jean-Robert Leguey-Feilleux, Ph.D.
  • Timothy Lomperis, Ph.D.
  • Steven Puro, Ph.D.


  • Sharilyn Bazile, administrative assistant
  • Mary Lapusan, administrative assistant