Menu Search & Directory

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience Grand Rounds

Thursday, 20 January, 2022

The Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Neuroscience will present a Grand Rounds from 8 to 9 a.m. on Thursday, Jan. 20, 2022.

The Grand Rounds will be on Zoom

Meeting ID: 932 1760 1415

Password: 690496

Mind of the Mafia

Alan R. Felthous, M.D.

Professor and Director

Division of Forensic Psychiatry

Saint Louis University School of Medicine

Alan R. Felthous, M.D., is Professor and Director, Forensic Psychiatry Division, Department of Psychiatry, Saint Louis University School of Medicine, Saint Louis, Missouri. He is senior editor of Behavioral Sciences and the Law, and author of numerous professional publications on forensic and legal psychiatry. He is Past President of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, the American Board of Forensic Psychiatry, the Association of Directors of Forensic Psychiatry Fellowships and Past Vice President of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences. In 2017 the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law presented Dr. Felthous with the Seymour Pollock Award for distinction in forensic psychiatry education and teaching.

Recent information that may pertain to this Grand Rounds: This year The Second Edition of The Wiley International Handbook on Psychopathic Disorders and the Law was published; the first edition having been distinguished with the Guttmacher Award by the American Psychiatric Association and the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law as the best recent publication in forensic psychiatry. Also co-edited with Henning Saß, the special issue of Behavioral Sciences and the Law on International Perspectives on Psychopathy Research was just published. Known for international, national, and departmental collaboration, Dr. Felthous worked with seven residents who had recent publications. Another six are collaborating on current papers or scheduled to present at a national forensic science workshop next month. Last summer Dr. Felthous was declared Honorary President of the Italian Society of Forensic Psychotherapy.