Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Arundhati Roy to Receive 2022 St. Louis Literary Award April 28

by Maggie Rotermund
Media Inquiries

Maggie Rotermund
Senior Media Relations Specialist

Reserved for members of the media.

The Saint Louis University Library Associates will honor author Arundhati Roy with the 2022 St. Louis Literary Award on April 28. The event will include a discussion with Roy moderated by Amber Johnson, Ph.D., interim vice president of Diversity and Innovative Community Engagement at Saint Louis University.

Arundhati Roy

Arundhati Roy. Photo courtesy of Mayak Austen.

The annual St. Louis Literary Award event will be held at 7 p.m. Thursday at the Sheldon Concert Hall. Registration to attend in-person or virtually will remain open until the event begins. 

Register for the Literary Award

A craft talk with Joya Uraizee, Ph.D., professor of English at SLU, will take place at 1 p.m. Friday, April 29, on the campus of Saint Louis University.

Register for the Craft Talk

Roy is the author of the novel The God of Small Things, which received the 1997 Booker Prize and was listed as a New York Times notable book of the year. Her second novel The Ministry of Utmost Happiness was named to the Man Booker long list in 2017 and was named a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Roy has been honored with Lannan Foundation’s Prize for Cultural Freedom (2002); the Sydney Peace Prize (2004); the George Orwell Award from the National Council of Teachers of English (2004); and the Norman Mailer Prize for Distinguished Writing (2011).

St. Louis Literary Award 

The St. Louis Literary Award is presented annually by the Saint Louis University Library Associates and has become one of the top literary prizes in the country. The award honors a writer who deepens our insight into the human condition and expands the scope of our compassion. Some of the most important writers of the 20th and 21st centuries have come to Saint Louis University to accept the honor, including Margaret Atwood, Salmon Rushdie, Eudora Welty, John Updike, Saul Bellow, August Wilson, Stephen Sondheim and Tom Wolfe.